Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Help?

    This is a discussion on Help? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; We used to use NTL for our broadband, but since we had Sky TV we decided to use their broadband ...

    1. #1
      adamf's Avatar
      adamf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help?

      We used to use NTL for our broadband, but since we had Sky TV we decided to use their broadband too since it's cheap, we got the router a few weeks ago, waited til it was activated, quickly tested (it seemed to be fine) then basically left it there (connected but with no PC's using it) until NTL stopped working last week. We have had loads of issues getting it to work now (we have a new router on the way because port 1 is dead), we kept losing the Internet whenever anyone picked up a phone or someone called us, we disconnected our DECT phones and now that's stopped, we are back on rubbish wired phones (which is an issue in a 3 storey house). Anyway, the short version of this....

      Connection Speed 576 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 63.5 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 6.5 db 9.0 db

      576 kbps! I have read on other forums about getting them to cap our speed, and when I phoned support today they said our line could only handle 3mbps, what should we be doing? The dude at support said to call back after 9 as it's quieter then and tier 2 support will cap it.

      Oh and it's meant to be the 8mb version.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help?

      Quote Originally Posted by adamf View Post
      Oh and it's meant to be the 8mb version.
      Hi

      Its up to 8mb

      How far away from the exchange are you?

      I would try the test socket

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

      And then repost your stats and see if we can suggest anything for you.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      adamf's Avatar
      adamf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help?

      We are plugged into the test socket at the moment, I did that earlier after reading a few sites.

      Where do I get the stats from? The bit I posted before was from the statistics on the router, I've read all the FAQ's and cannot see how to get that long section of info that lots of people post (although I would guess I have missed something obvious).

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Help?





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      adamf's Avatar
      adamf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help?

      Ahh, it's in a different section, sorry, only read this help one.....

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 576 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: OFF
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.5 9.0
      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 15.6 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 672 692
      Rate (Kbps): 576 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 19(0) 15
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 8
      D: 2 2
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 19 15
      M: 8 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 8.8000 9.0000
      L: 160 128
      D: 2 2
      Counters
      SF: 233422 233420
      SFErr: 20 0
      RS: 1984094 1984070
      RSCorr: 21075 84
      RSUnCorr: 37 0

      HEC: 12 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 5390406 0
      Data Cells: 411644 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 25 0
      SES: 19 0
      UAS: 16 0
      Total time = 1 hours 6 min 29 sec
      SF = 233422
      CRC = 20
      LOS = 23
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 6 min 29 sec
      SF = 233422
      CRC = 20
      LOS = 23
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 29 sec
      SF = 22936
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 15
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51635
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1

    7. #6
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Help?

      Attn(dB): 63.5 31.5
      think your a good distance from exchange [my attn is 33.5 and 16]im about 1.3 km straight line [but its actually about 2 km line distance] i get between 8-10 meg so dont think u'll ever get 8 meg [www.dslzoneuk.net/maxspeed2.php] reckons u'll get 2-4 meg at best [ur noise level aint to bad 6.5db but its better to be at 7-8 to make line stable

    8. #7
      adamf's Avatar
      adamf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help?

      Did a test earlier on a website and it came up with 2.3km.

    9. #8
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Help?

      sorry that was for llu [adsl2] for adsl [ie connect] it comes up with speeds between 0.2-0.6 mbps ,that 2.3 km is straight line but cables run all over the place [maybe 3-4 km ]but it shows that as your max speed on connect

    10. #9
      adamf's Avatar
      adamf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help?

      If this is the top speed, then I guess we will tell them we want to go to the basic free one that comes with our TV and just will get NTL again.

    11. #10
      adamf's Avatar
      adamf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help?

      Using DSL ZoneUK - Broadband checker it says the one near us (Werrington) is capable of 8mbps, and our line is capable of 2mbps or more.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION