Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Rebooting router... everyday

    This is a discussion on Rebooting router... everyday within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone help? My netgear dg834gt needs rebooting daily; sometimes several times a day. I've been live since the 4th ...

    1. #1
      ska_tactics's Avatar
      ska_tactics is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHMW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Hemsworth
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Rebooting router... everyday

      Can anyone help?
      My netgear dg834gt needs rebooting daily; sometimes several times a day.
      I've been live since the 4th of April but left it this long to see if it sorted itself out.
      I've done two sets of stats; one set before router reboot and one after.
      If any more info is needed I'm more than happy to oblige.
      Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Thanks in advance.

      19:53 – 21/04/07. Before reboot.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 21.0 11.9
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 18072 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 580611 580609
      SFErr: 253 1
      RS: 75479518 4935176
      RSCorr: 42893 4
      RSUnCorr: 321 0

      HEC: 231 0
      OCD: 2 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 339673261 16937520
      Data Cells: 32144815 1142452
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 77 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 18
      Total time = 2 hours 36 min 58 sec
      SF = 580611
      CRC = 253
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 77
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 36 min 58 sec
      SF = 580611
      CRC = 253
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 77
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 58 sec
      SF = 25819
      CRC = 230
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 65
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55652
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1

      19:58 – 21/04/07. After reboot.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.1 13.5
      Attn(dB): 21.0 11.9
      Pwr(dBm): 947.2 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 17708 864
      Rate (Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5002 5000
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 650344 42500
      RSCorr: 35 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2918565 128662
      Data Cells: 65 28
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 18
      Total time = 1 min 40 sec
      SF = 5002
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 min 40 sec
      SF = 5002
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 1 min 40 sec
      SF = 5002
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router... everyday

      Your line is clocking up a high number of errors. With your attenuation (very low/good) and noise margin high/good) you must have a problem with your line (i.e. noise), I'd guess you're using an extension for your router. This may be why you are having to reboot.

      See the cabling and faceplate help forum for info and ways to fix this.

    4. #3
      ska_tactics's Avatar
      ska_tactics is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHMW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Hemsworth
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router... everyday

      Thanks for the advice, Saturday. I DO have a spur (3 pair 0.5mm cable) running from my master socket downstairs (from points 2 and 5 of the face plate) to a secondary socket in the attic two floors above. This cable runs out of the house up the front of the house and back in again to the attic socket. Since your reply I’ve removed the spur; taken the router downstairs and connected directly into the master socket.
      I’ve now got my own/better half’s PC’s (attic) linked to a D-link DES – 1005D hub (attic) which is connected to the router (living room) via cat5e running out of the attic, down the outside wall and back into the living room, lol. Phew, hope that’s not too confusing?

      Bye 4 now

      These are the stats…

      1/5/07 15:19

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.2 11.5
      Attn(dB): 21.0 11.9
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 18936 864
      Rate(Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 10786044 10786042
      SFErr: 9394509 1
      RS: 1402185776 91681357
      RSCorr: 31882480 65
      RSUnCorr: 54434328 0

      HEC: 9430696 0
      OCD: 239918 0
      LCD: 10 0
      Total Cells: 1852524746 305259087
      Data Cells: 360297 84635
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 152715 1
      SES: 152261 0
      UAS: 14 18
      Total time = 1 days 30 min 8 sec
      SF = 10786044
      CRC = 9394509
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 152715
      Latest 1 day time = 30 min 8 sec
      SF = 111675
      CRC = 111241
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1808
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 sec
      SF = 494
      CRC = 492
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 55375
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 900
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5337803
      CRC = 5316973
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 86158
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 55374
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 900
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 55364
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 900
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55652
      CRC = 55432
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 886
      Last edited by ska_tactics; 02-05-07 at 01:20 PM.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router... everyday

      Still very nasty/high I'm afraid.

    6. #5
      ska_tactics's Avatar
      ska_tactics is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHMW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Hemsworth
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router... everyday

      If you don't mind me asking, Saturday. If these were your stats, what would your next move be?

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router... everyday

      Looking at your stats you have a near 1:1 ration between superframes and CRC. That's an astronomically high number of CRC. Your errored seconds are running at 100% ot the total seconds at times. In simple terms a huge percentage of packets of data are arriving with some degree of corruption and whilst some can be corrected much will have to be retransmitted - and that retransmitted etc, etc.

      The question is what's the cause? Inevitably it is going to be noise of some sort or other either arising locally (i.e. your internal wiring) or remote (i.e. between you and the exchange, or possibly both.

      I'm guessing from your description of your wiring it is fairly old and you don't have a modern NTE5 master socket?

      What you need to do is isolate all phone wiring in your house from the router and run a test. With an NTE5 you can do this by plugging the router into the test socket which is hidden inside. If you're still getting the same level of errors then the noise is external and you would need to contact BT. If most errors disappear then the noise is internal and you need to consider rewiring but probably just fit a filtered faceplate first to see what improvements this made.

      If you don't have an NTE5 then things are more difficult. Your only solution may be to fit one or have it fitted next to your original master socket, fit a filtered faceplate to it then disconnect every extension from the original and connect to the new; then connect the original to the new.

      If rewiring/new faceplate is out of the question then I'd switch to G.DMT and jack up my noise margin from the 13.2db currently to maybe 20db and see if that reduced the errors enough and gave me a more stable connection. Those two things are effectively what Sky T3 would do (i.e. cap you) if you were to contact them. By doing it yourself you remain in control

      HTH
      Last edited by Saturday; 02-05-07 at 02:00 PM.

    8. #7
      ska_tactics's Avatar
      ska_tactics is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHMW
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Hemsworth
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router... everyday

      The master socket face plate is looking like the culprit so far but would just like you to take a look at latest stats. I've connected directly into the test socket and the CRC's look a lot better (wouldn't know what number would be acceptable lol) but it is after only four hours from reboot. I'm definately investing in a new master socket; I believe it's the XTE 2005 that you recommend, isn't it?
      Cheers

      2/5/07 19:57

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 15323 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 11.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 21.0 11.9
      Pwr(dBm): 0.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 19036 864
      Rate(Kbps): 15323 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 59 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 2 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.4980 7.7037
      L: 4096 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 916687 916685
      SFErr: 29 1
      RS: 119169352 7791822
      RSCorr: 6410 338
      RSUnCorr: 366 0

      HEC: 30 0
      OCD: 17 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 536279904 26748116
      Data Cells: 109939577 3744783
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 12 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 18
      Total time = 4 hours 7 min 38 sec
      SF = 916687
      CRC = 29
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 7 min 38 sec
      SF = 916687
      CRC = 29
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 38 sec
      SF = 28290
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55590
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55591
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router... everyday

      There are a few errors but not too much to worry about. What this shows is that the noise is local and fitting a replacement filtered faceplate such as the ADSLnation one will probably bring real benefit.

    10. #9
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router... everyday

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      If rewiring/new faceplate is out of the question then I'd switch to G.DMT and jack up my noise margin from the 13.2db currently to maybe 20db and see if that reduced the errors enough and gave me a more stable connection. Those two things are effectively what Sky T3 would do (i.e. cap you) if you were to contact them. By doing it yourself you remain in control

      HTH
      How do you do this? Can it be done the other way round (G.DMT to ADSL2+) or do tier3 have to do this?

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Rebooting router... everyday

      If you are on uncapped Max ADSL2+ then you can change mode yourself (and change back again) using the same utility you used to get your full stats.

      If your connection is G.DMT then you can't do this as Sky will have "locked" you to G.DMT.

      You can change noise margin in almost all circumstances though if your connection speed has been capped you will only be able to increase it.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION