Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

    This is a discussion on How do I know I have got Sky bb ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; My big day is tomorrow. (+3 day's) So I am assuming my BT connection will cease at some point tomorrow ...

    1. #1
      Hammerbear's Avatar
      Hammerbear is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      My big day is tomorrow. (+3 day's)
      So I am assuming my BT connection will cease at some point tomorrow ?
      When it does, I assume I just plug in the Sky router and open up my browser every now and then to see if it's working ?
      Or is there any other way of knowing.

      Regards......Ted


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      Your BT connection will stop working so it is just a case of plugging in your Sky router and off you go, (hopefully).

    4. #3
      SixtyClear's Avatar
      SixtyClear is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bordon
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Hampshire, UK
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      Well my live date is today, so far i'm happily using my *old* provider, nothing has cut off, or anything Sky related put on.

      Not sure what hours these things happen, or whethers its automatic or manual.
      Christopher Imrie
      SixtyClear Managed IT Solutions

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      Any time up to midnight.

    6. #5
      Hammerbear's Avatar
      Hammerbear is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      Thanks guy's. Ted

    7. #6
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      Mine was done at 04.16 in the morning so it could be done at some odd hour.

    8. #7
      The 3 Shires's Avatar
      The 3 Shires is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Barry
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      Quote Originally Posted by SixtyClear View Post
      Well my live date is today, so far i'm happily using my *old* provider, nothing has cut off, or anything Sky related put on.

      Not sure what hours these things happen, or whethers its automatic or manual.
      Don't get too excited....my live date was over a month ago, and I'm still (un)happily using AOL....despite paying for Sky for over a month....!!!

      Sky keep telling me that their system shows me as active....I keep telling them I don't care what their system is telling them, as I'm still able to connect as AOL, which means the supposed migration has NOT taken place and is why my Sky connection will not work....!!! If Tier 1 try and get me to reset my router and run the diagnostic tests one more time, I swear I'm gonna swing for one of them. Tier 3 had the cheek to close my original call (which had been going on for a month) on the basis that they thought they'd found and resolved a fault 'at the exchange' but did not even bother to check that this had actually resolved the problem by contacting the customer to see if they could now connect - which is why I've ended back at Tier 1, who refuse to go any further until I do the diagnostic tests again, even though I keep explaining that they WILL fail because my migration has not worked - ARGGGHHHH !!!

    9. #8
      SixtyClear's Avatar
      SixtyClear is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bordon
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Hampshire, UK
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      My migration did in fact take place today around 1PM, however the connection was immediately capped.

      So i'm not the most happy person on the planet.
      Christopher Imrie
      SixtyClear Managed IT Solutions

    10. #9
      Chi's Avatar
      Chi
      Chi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      Im switching from AOL. Do AOL still charge you for there service?

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: How do I know I have got Sky bb ?

      When you have swapped over, I would ring AOL to confirm you have in fact left them. Make sure if you have a direct debit for AOL you cancel it or ask them to remove your card details, whilst on the phone to them.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION