Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    New and need advice!!

    This is a discussion on New and need advice!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Update- This morning about 11.10am lost my DSL. Logged on at my sisters house and on Broadband checker, its still ...

    1. #11
      Hopeful's Avatar
      Hopeful is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Re: New and need advice!!

      Update- This morning about 11.10am lost my DSL. Logged on at my sisters house and on Broadband checker, its still says that theres and incompatible product on my line. Called BT Wholesale and a woman told me that the cease is not due to be completed on my line till tonite. She advised me to call back tommorrow Sat AM to check that my line is cleared, then hopefully I will be able to order Sky.

      By the way can someone please explain difference between Sky ADSL1 and ADSL2, and does it affect which package you order initially.

      If my line can only support 8MG is it still worth ordering MAX???? or will it cause problems further down the line??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Hopeful's Avatar
      Hopeful is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: New and need advice!!

      Hi all,

      Update: Line was indeed cleared, called Sky and ordered BB on 21st April. Received letter to say BB would be activated 2nd May and received router Sat 28th April. Just 48 more hours and hopefully all will be well.

      Needed to ask a couple of questions?

      Murdock said in his post not to use McAfee, WHY? He suggested using the CD up to a certain point.

      When I initially set up my ethernet connection on my PC should I disable Wireless for the first 10 days until my speed stabilises before networking my laptop wirelessly?

      Should I change my SSID straightaway as well as login pswd?

      Any help would be appreciated, as If I can configure my router before going live then I would prefer to do that.

      Thanx.

    4. #13
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New and need advice!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Hopeful View Post
      Murdock said in his post not to use McAfee, WHY? He suggested using the CD up to a certain point.Thanx.
      Welcome Hopeful
      McAfee causes all kinds of problems.
      I found this out on this site when deciding if I should join Sky BB.
      There were many posters warning not to use McAfee.
      Why risk it,when there are free and paid for anti-virus software that
      is far better. Check out the link below.
      I joined in September. No problems.

      The only reason for using the CD that I had was to check out
      that I had the leads connected correctly. But you do not need
      to use it at all.
      NewsReader uses his CD as a coffee coaster. See his avatar.
      His slogan should be: "McAfee is crappy. MyCoffee is frothy."

      I'm sure others will answer your other questions.


      My Max. Faster, Cheaper, Better
      Last edited by murdock; 30-04-07 at 11:37 PM. Reason: revised

    5. #14
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New and need advice!!

      Hopeful,
      As if to prove my point in my posting above.
      Someone has just posted a thread called
      McAfee Upgrade and...

      Some have had success with McAfee,
      usually by adjusting the settings.
      But why risk it?

    6. #15
      Hopeful's Avatar
      Hopeful is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      48
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: New and need advice!!

      Thanks Murdock, I previously had Nortons 2006 for a year and had nothing but problems, my pc slowed to a crawl after it was installed and it was a brand new pc so there wasn't much else on it in terms of software.

      At present I have Avast installed and Zone Alarm as well as Adaware so I do have some protection. Just thought since it was free...........

      On the setup CD Sky tell you to disable your firewall and anti-virus do you still need to do this when first connecting with your router without the CD???

    7. #16
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New and need advice!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Hopeful View Post
      On the setup CD Sky tell you to disable your firewall and anti-virus do you still need to do this when first connecting with your router without the CD???
      No.
      (Unless someone knows better.)
      The Sky router has a built in firewall.

    8. #17
      newskyBOd's Avatar
      newskyBOd Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: New and need advice!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Hopeful View Post

      On the setup CD Sky tell you to disable your firewall and anti-virus do you still need to do this when first connecting with your router without the CD???
      hi just plug it in and your good to go a good thing to do is make sure your ethernet and wireless card drivers are upto date


      when i installed mcaffee my pc froze it wouldnt boot so i went into safe mode to uninstall it mcafee has never worked on any pc's ive had over the years i dont know why people say its one of the best

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION