Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Slow speeds but stable

    This is a discussion on Slow speeds but stable within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello out there. I posted awhile ago in regards of the ****ty connection, i.e line dropping in the evening, sometimes ...

    1. #1
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow speeds but stable

      Hello out there.

      I posted awhile ago in regards of the ****ty connection, i.e line dropping in the evening, sometimes no connection at all.

      Now it seems to have stabalised, with noise margin of around 16:

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 1696 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 16.1 db 13.0 db

      The problem now is the very slow speeds, awhile ago i was getting speeds of around 3000kbps, but now it's nearly half of that.

      Heres my full stats:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 1696 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 16.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 60.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.4 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 1856 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 1696 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 54(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 4 8
      D: 32 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 116 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1367 8.6153
      L: 936 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 122580121 122580119
      SFErr: 1440 3972
      RS: 2083862068 505060099
      RSCorr: 6922836 65300
      RSUnCorr: 12967 0

      HEC: 1246 2948
      OCD: 28 464
      LCD: 0 32
      Total Cells: 4040462570 0
      Data Cells: 235907337 0
      Drop Cells: 90838
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 47197 0
      SES: 42149 0
      UAS: 61 0
      Total time = 1 days 16 hours 49 min 51 sec
      SF = 130614898
      CRC = 1435703
      LOS = 2161
      LOF = 0
      ES = 47197
      Latest 1 day time = 16 hours 49 min 51 sec
      SF = 3564100
      CRC = 57
      LOS = 28
      LOF = 0
      ES = 44
      Latest 15 minutes time = 4 min 51 sec
      SF = 17114
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082263
      CRC = 44
      LOS = 47
      LOF = 0
      ES = 56
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      I'm paying for the 16mb service here, but i know my line isn't capable of that, but 1.6mb this day and age is pretty poor.

      Any technophobes care to give any help/pointers/advice?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds but stable

      Your attenuation is high 60db this would indicate you are a long way from the exchange?? or have a poor quality line.

    4. #3
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds but stable

      The thing is i live in a block of maisonettes and i used to live in the flat above this one, i was on a 2mb connection then, and i regularly got that speed. Now i move downstairs and my speeds fluctuate dramatically, i've just reset the router a few times, each time i got different speeds, one was <1mb, a few in between and now i got just over 2mb.

      Although my noise margin has now dropped to 6.3, i see disconnections on the horizon.

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds but stable

      Have you tried plugging into the test socket behind the master socket face plate?

    6. #5
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds but stable

      No not yet, i hope to try that sometime today (if my g/f allows me).

      Another question, as the master socket is in the hallway and my PC is upstairs, i have a 20m phone extension running to my bedroom, i then have the filter plugged into this, and then the router and a phone attached.

      See this magnificent picture:



      I have nothing else plugged into the master socket, is this the best way to go, or should i keep the router + filter plugged in next to the master socket and run a cat5 cable upstairs? I've tried the wireless, and it caused worse problems so i won't go there.

      Thanks constant readers.

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Slow speeds but stable

      Well if plugging into the test socket improves things then CAT5 maybe the way to go and keep the router by the master, or if your extension is a cheap crappy one then might be worth trying proper twisted pair phone cable and a slave socket at the other end and only connecting two wires. 2 and 5 I think.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION