Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sync speed

    This is a discussion on Sync speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Peeps New to Sky Broadband and the board, Just thought i'd say hello and ask a qustion at the ...

    1. #1
      chainy75's Avatar
      chainy75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sync speed

      Hi Peeps

      New to Sky Broadband and the board, Just thought i'd say hello and ask a qustion at the same time.

      My router is currentley only syncing at 11171 Kbps on the MAX package.
      Download speeds are between 3/8 meg depending on peak/offpeak times.
      Is this likely to be my max limit or am i being capped.
      ADSL faceplate connected to the main socket.
      1.05 Kilometres from the exchange. (straight line)
      My old isp was 8meg and synced at 8 meg (download speeds were between 4/6 meg) which was pretty good.

      Router stats as follows:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 11171 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: U:ON /D:ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.8 13.0
      Attn(dB): 35.0 18.7
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.6
      Max(Kbps): 13128 864
      Rate (Kbps): 11171 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 243(0) 24
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 87 68
      B: 242 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 0.6931 7.7037
      L: 2943 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 5480580 5480578
      SFErr: 623 15
      RS: 509693980 46584913
      RSCorr: 68230 48
      RSUnCorr: 10371 0

      HEC: 539 24
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 2327265177 159217263
      Data Cells: 57114314 2193547
      Drop Cells: 1907
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 18676 8
      SES: 2895 0
      UAS: 2115 20
      Total time = 1 days 30 min 41 sec
      SF = 228910454
      CRC = 185430
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 9
      ES = 18676
      Latest 1 day time = 30 min 41 sec
      SF = 114264
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Latest 15 minutes time = 41 sec
      SF = 2552
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55825
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5360965
      CRC = 606
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 389
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55887
      CRC = 5
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55826
      CRC = 26
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 19
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55825
      CRC = 26
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16

      Any helpfull comments would be appreciated
      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Sync speed

      Don't think you are capped, your stats look pretty good, it is unlikely you will ever get max speed unless you live next door to the exchange. There are too many other factors involved like actual length and quality of the cable to exchange, and web site speeds vary drastically. Thats why the service is sold as "up to 16mb"

    4. #3
      sky43389's Avatar
      sky43389 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02085
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speed

      m8 its not capped, i emailed sky and apparently they dont cap people to reduce the speed!
      believe it or not,
      if you want i can forward the email to ya!

    5. #4
      chainy75's Avatar
      chainy75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speed

      Quote Originally Posted by sky43389 View Post
      m8 its not capped, i emailed sky and apparently they dont cap people to reduce the speed!
      believe it or not,
      if you want i can forward the email to ya!

      No its ok, I believe you :P

      Im just a little dissapointed that im not getting much better speed from upgrading from my last isp's 8 meg package to sky's 16mb.

      Atleast its cheaper I suppose

    6. #5
      sky43389's Avatar
      sky43389 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02085
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speed

      hehe unlucky m8
      im on a 8 meg connection, but im only getting 2.5meg peak 3.2 meg off peak
      but at least its a fiver a month, and works, was on the fone 4 2 hours with technical support doing random crap, she concluded tht the router was faulty,
      after 20 mins of having put the fone down , i was online realising the gateway wasnt working. Within the hour i was wireless again, shows how good the support is lol

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sync speed

      I know you have an ADSL faceplate, but have you tied connecting direct to the test socket? Have you tried disconnecting the ring wire? It seems your attenuation is a bit high for being so close to the exchange. Unless your line takes a very circuitous route, it is not that long!

      There are various tutorials on the forum on improving your speed, so it is worthwhile having a look at them. I don't know why, but lines that performed quite well with other suppliers, seem to need tweaking when you move to Sky.

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sync speed

      @chainy75

      You're talking about 2 different things: router connection speed and download speed. whilst they are related they're not the same thing.

      For a given attenuation, your router will sync at the highest speed it can at a noise margin of 6.9 or above. This means any noise on the line will reduce the sync (connection speed). You are syncing at 11171kbps which is a little low for an attenuation of 35db so you have some noise on your line (your stats show significant problems some hours before you took them). Remove it and your sync speed should rise.

      For a given sync speed your download speed should be ~85% of this. The "missing" 15% is used for transmission overheads. You say you are downloading at 3-8meg which is less than 85%. The most common reasons for this are:
      • problems inherent in using a wireless connection - wired is best. Because of the variability you report my guess is you are wireless
      • incorrect TCP/IP settings - see the second sticky in my signature at the bottom of this post
      • using a slow/overloaded test server


      So, in conclusion, no, you're not capped. I suspect your problems are within your own power to rectify.

      Please take a little time to read the stickies in the forum. You'll find they answer many questions.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION