Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    The lights are on but nobody's home.

    This is a discussion on The lights are on but nobody's home. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well...I'm activated, I think. My activation date is today, so I plugged in my new router last night before midnight ...

    1. #1
      flogster's Avatar
      flogster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Epsom, Surrey
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      The lights are on but nobody's home.

      Well...I'm activated, I think.

      My activation date is today, so I plugged in my new router last night before midnight in the off chance that it may already be up and running. Plugged it all in and all the usual router lights kicked into gear bar the adsl one. Fair enough I thought...activation isn't due til tomorrow.

      Then as it turned midnight, the adsl light came on and stayed on.

      So, thought I'd plough ahead seeing as I use a Mac there's not much to worry about installing a new router, usually it's plug inn go after a few mins.

      Anyway, tried to go online....and nothing. Okay, thought I'd try and use the install CD just to hedge me bets. CD installed until the last minute and gave me a "hmmm, we're not quite ready yet..." message.

      So I thought I'd sleep on it, give the line a chance to settle.

      This morning same story, SKY router is showing all lights as active.

      Basically, the router is connected, I just can't get onto the 'net.

      I'm guessing at the moment my problem is that I'm unable to get to the router's admin page.

      Does anyone have any ideas as to how I get to this page? I've tried variations of 192.168.0.* with no luck so far.

      Any ideas?

      17" Intel iMac Mutts Nuts - OS 10.4.8
      (also running Windows via Boot Camp)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      flogster's Avatar
      flogster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Epsom, Surrey
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      actually have just had a thought. I'm at home still using my F2S service, which is due to end on the 12th. Do I need for that to cease completely before SKY kicks in?

      17" Intel iMac Mutts Nuts - OS 10.4.8
      (also running Windows via Boot Camp)

    4. #3
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You can only have one connection. If your f2s does not work now then you do not need to do anything as far as f2s is concerened. Sky should ensure your new connection is made. What date did they say it would be activated in your letter?

      You should be able to access http://192.168.0.1./ whether the sky service is active or not. So i would suggest you sort that problem out first. How are you connecting to your router wire or wireless? I would think wireless becuase if you were using the cable you would almost certainly be connected unless you have disabled your Local Area Connection. Have a look in Start > Connect To > Show All connections (XP) and let us know what it says.

    5. #4
      flogster's Avatar
      flogster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Epsom, Surrey
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ah I'm still using F2S it seems.


      Sky said that the service will be activate on the 7th however F2S have said that their service will cease on Sept12th.

      I guess that once that ends, SKY will actually kick in?



      Have managed to access the routers admin page at last thanks. Tried the SKY test thing and, unsurprisingly, it failed to work. Also noticed that the SKY admin showed no IP information or anything along those lines.

      So to simplify, I have to wait until F2S finally pull the plug on the 12th before SKY works?
      Last edited by flogster; 07-09-06 at 12:15 PM. Reason: other info

      17" Intel iMac Mutts Nuts - OS 10.4.8
      (also running Windows via Boot Camp)

    6. #5
      The Hunter's Avatar
      The Hunter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Woolwich LSWOO
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Welling, Kent
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Flogster, I like you have migrated from f2s to skybb. My activation date was the 6th and the f2s service cease is the 11th.

      The migration happened yesterday during the afternoon and I can now use skybb. It is probably just the case of waiting for BT to switch you over sometime today.

    7. #6
      flogster's Avatar
      flogster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Epsom, Surrey
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ah right.....thanks Hunter, will see what happens then. Will keep this thread updated as and when.

      17" Intel iMac Mutts Nuts - OS 10.4.8
      (also running Windows via Boot Camp)

    8. #7
      Somebody's Avatar
      Somebody is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by flogster View Post

      Sky said that the service will be activate on the 7th however F2S have said that their service will cease on Sept12th.
      flogster, I'm due to go live on SkyBB today too, with my old ISP ceasing on Sept12th also. I'm posting via my old ISP.

      Good luck to us both!

    9. #8
      flogster's Avatar
      flogster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Epsom, Surrey
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Good luck indeed! Still on F2S at the moment.

      17" Intel iMac Mutts Nuts - OS 10.4.8
      (also running Windows via Boot Camp)

    10. #9
      Somebody's Avatar
      Somebody is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up

      WooHoooooo

      Up and running

    11. #10
      flogster's Avatar
      flogster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Epsom, Surrey
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not me matey, still on F2S. Checked with SKY, they said it's definitely slated for today,can happen any time up to midnight...

      17" Intel iMac Mutts Nuts - OS 10.4.8
      (also running Windows via Boot Camp)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION