Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    The lights are on but nobody's home.

    This is a discussion on The lights are on but nobody's home. within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Not very robust.... I've had to reboot the router three times already. The router's locked up once or twice as ...

    1. #11
      Somebody's Avatar
      Somebody is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Not very robust....

      I've had to reboot the router three times already.

      The router's locked up once or twice as I couldn't even log in to the router via 192.168.0.1.

      Will it settle down?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      3 peeps on here saying that now, either faulty routers or something in common with pc's




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      are you running windows xp..?
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    5. #14
      tuffjam's Avatar
      tuffjam is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: High Wycombe
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I was supposed to be activated yesterday and the cease is on my line for the 12th but my switchover from AOL hasn't happened

      I'll give the provisioning dept a call when I get to work to find out what the score is.

    6. #15
      brucemac's Avatar
      brucemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i got activated the day after i was supposed to, give provisoning a all as the cs reps just look on the screen need to speak to the prov deopt to check its all going through, think that there was a day delay with BT

    7. #16
      Somebody's Avatar
      Somebody is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by SatDish View Post
      are you running windows xp..?
      Yes, I am. But I think it's unrelated.

      Reading a post at adslguide a moderater indicated that some peer to peer connections caused problems with routers. I happen to be running and connecting both Yahoo and Windows Messenger (don't ask me why - but you can think of it as having "his and hers"!). Closing Windows Messenger Live has done the trick.

      The router has been up constantly since.

      I went for the mid (8mbs) package. My stats are:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7776 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 14.0 db 13.0 db

      Getting sownload speed of about 4.5mbs at the moment. Been as low as 2mbs.

    8. #17
      Somebody's Avatar
      Somebody is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Now connected 16 hours without a hitch.

      System Up Time 16:12:17
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 206930 200828 0 283 1720 15:42:51
      LAN 10M/100M 232853 239531 0 1925 388 16:12:15
      WLAN 11M/54M 53734 56180 0 875 204 16:12:06

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 7776 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 34.0 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 13.4 db 13.0 db

    9. #18
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Messenger shouldn't affect it. Try restarting messenger and see if you have issues - could just be a coincidence.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION