Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Speed Question

    This is a discussion on Speed Question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have just moved over to sky today about 2 hours ago and i have noticed i am not syncing ...

    1. #1
      stuartp44's Avatar
      stuartp44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bacup
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Speed Question

      I have just moved over to sky today about 2 hours ago and i have noticed i am not syncing at the speed i could do e.g. 16000kbps, i have noticed some of you going on about the "training" is this why i am on syncing at 8000kbps?, i do however have a confestion my internet connection went off this morning and i assumed that it was the switch over but on my letter they said the 14th?

      Any advice would be great

      Stuart


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Question

      There is no training period on the Sky Max package.

      If you are still using your old router/modem then you are not yet on Sky.

      If you are online with the Sky router then you have been changed over early.

      If you are now on sky, some people have reported increases in speeds over the first few days of connetion although max speeds will be dependant on the distance you are from your local exchange.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #3
      stuartp44's Avatar
      stuartp44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bacup
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Question

      I am currently connected using my SKY router and have a sky ip address, but i do seem to have drop outs on a regular basis i dont know why , it never happerned until biscuit bought out v21 and now i seem to get it on a regularry bases

      Stuart

    5. #4
      stuartp44's Avatar
      stuartp44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bacup
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Question

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 15.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 14.0 db

      I have read though your guide about the noise and stuff like that, but the i dont understand it at all, what should be getting with the above data, is that crap or is it good

      When i did the line lenth thing i got 1.6km

      Stuart
      Last edited by stuartp44; 13-04-07 at 12:52 AM.

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Speed Question

      At a glance the stats you have given don't look too bad, so should be getting a faster speed unless Sky have capped your speed for some reason, that could be due to a noisey line etc, try plugging router into the test socket behind your master "main" Bt socket assuming it is an NTE5 socket. By doing that it connects you direct to the BT line and isolates extension wiring which in some cases can be a source of problems, also extract your detailed router stats using Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 and post then here they will show alot more detail of line errors etc. Open using wordpad.

    7. #6
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Speed Question

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...explained.html

      PLEASE READ FIRST: How to obtain and post router stats



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 23.0 db 15.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.3 db 14.0 db

      Your attenuation is low enough that you could potentially get the full 16mbps, subject to noise margin.


      8096/768, and still with a bit of leeway on the noise margin......... you've been capped by Sky at 8096kbps.


      Have a read of the above links, & get your detailed stats (normal socket connection, & test socket connection) as Koala5 mentioned above.


      Sky may have capped you due to errors.

    8. #7
      stuartp44's Avatar
      stuartp44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bacup
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Speed Question

      Test Socket

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 14.4 14.0
      Attn(dB): 23.0 15.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.9
      Max(Kbps): 10624 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 28229 28227
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 3839156 239929
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 9161935 0
      Data Cells: 18237 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 47 0
      Total time = 9 min 4 sec
      SF = 28229
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 9 min 4 sec
      SF = 28229
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 9 min 4 sec
      SF = 28229
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

      Normal Socket

      *Upon Removing all the unneeded pairs in the extenstenstions i get 13.1 or 13.0 compared to 9.8 to 10.0*

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 13.0 14.0
      Attn(dB): 23.0 15.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.1
      Max(Kbps): 9440 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 80218 80216
      SFErr: 413 14
      RS: 10909720 681836
      RSCorr: 13981 24
      RSUnCorr: 41825 0

      HEC: 233 10
      OCD: 34 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 25966458 0
      Data Cells: 14574 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 17 0
      SES: 13 0
      UAS: 118 0
      Total time = 47 min 30 sec
      SF = 156849
      CRC = 575
      LOS = 14
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Latest 1 day time = 47 min 30 sec
      SF = 156849
      CRC = 575
      LOS = 14
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 30 sec
      SF = 8881
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 413
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 16
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 45873
      CRC = 162
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 49165
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Last edited by stuartp44; 13-04-07 at 12:21 PM.

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Speed Question

      Your CRC errors are a little high on the list not connected to the test socket, you could try disconnecting ring wire on any extensions, search forun for extension wiring. But the main problem is I believe you have been capped by Sky, the only cure for that is to ring Sky.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION