Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.

Newbie Firewall Question

This is a discussion on Newbie Firewall Question within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I am new to the world of ADSL routers, as with my previous ISP I connected via an ...

Rico is offline Sky User Member
      Broadband ISP:
      Sky TV:

Newbie Firewall Question

Hi all,

I am new to the world of ADSL routers, as with my previous ISP I connected via an ADSL modem, so please excuse my ignorance here.

OK, it's to do with the router's firewall and the Windows XP SP2 firewall. In XP, I would configure the firewall to allow certain executables the ability to "talk" to the Internet unrestricted. I didn't have any specific ports open in my exceptions list, just the executables and everything worked great.

Now, having read elsewhere on this forum that it's best to disable the OS firewall and use the one on the router I have one question. On the router, if I need an inbound port open, I have to open the port completely. So, for example, in the case of SkyByBroadband they say you need to enable port 8080/TCP inbound on your firewall but don't specify a range of addresses that I can lock that down to. So basically my firewall is now open for 8080 /TCP access inbound for anyone out there in InternetLand.

Isn't that less secure than XP's firewall where it would only allow the SkybyBroadband application to accept inbound connections on that port? If so, should I enable the XP firewall and disable the one on the router?

Thanks for your help all, and sorry if it's a really dumb question!

2. Advertisement
      Martin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Greyfriars
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Sky TV:

I guess it all really depends why you need an open port inbound.