Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Loss of connection problems

    This is a discussion on Loss of connection problems within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi i've been having problems with my connection for a while now, Im on the MAX package and the fasted ...

    1. #1
      Yousef's Avatar
      Yousef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Loss of connection problems

      Hi i've been having problems with my connection for a while now, Im on the MAX package and the fasted ive been connected at is 15323. When I got connected in September 2006 I had similar problems to what I have now, I thought that SKY had fixed it for me, but after reading these forums I realized that it was probably the UPNP error with the router which I had turned off and that was what fixed the problems back then.

      The connection was fine for months, then in March, my speed was automatically 'recalibrated' and capped to 10Mb, the connection was still stable however, I phoned up and got them to reset the cap, and thats when the problems started.

      The connection is just really unstable, sometimes it will work for hours at a time, then it will need a restart, sometimes for only minutes at at time. Also sometimes a restart doesn't even reconnect, waiting for 10 minutes then restarting does though. Another symptom ive found out recently is that when I start uploading a file to a server I lose connection within a few seconds, other times Ive left my pc uploading large files to a server overnight and its been fine.

      I spent 2 hours on the phone to tier 3 the other day trying to figure out the problem, he was taking a look at the errors that I was getting, and said that when the speed was below 12Mb things were fine. Its capped at 11Mb at the moment but the problems persist. A replacement router is on its way as well but I doubt it will help tbh.

      Ive only just started using mognuts stats utility to have a look at my stats and I think I may have found something that could be to do with it. If I could have your opinions please.

      Here is a comparison between stats of when the connection is fine, and when its not.

      FINE:

      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 766 Kbps, Downstream rate = 10998 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 15.2 12.0
      Attn(dB): 25.5 14.3
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 17904 884
      Rate (Kbps): 10998 766
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 87 124
      B: 238 13
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.6924 8.6877
      L: 2946 221
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 624228 624226
      SFErr: 0 1
      RS: 58053236 2652960
      RSCorr: 98 620756995
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 260715135 18123941
      Data Cells: 2579325 936010
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 13 20
      Total time = 2 hours 47 min 49 sec
      SF = 624228
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0



      NOT FINE:

      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 766 Kbps, Downstream rate = 10998 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.8 11.5
      Attn(dB): 25.5 14.3
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 17904 884
      Rate (Kbps): 10998 766
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 14
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 16
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 87 124
      B: 238 13
      M: 1 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.6924 8.6877
      L: 2946 221
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 993350 993348
      SFErr: 18602 9
      RS: 92381610 4221729
      RSCorr: 546 12
      RSUnCorr: 1737713 0

      HEC: 14 89
      OCD: 2 0
      LCD: 3 0
      Total Cells: 407044584 28350482
      Data Cells: 12637310 4274061
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 255 3
      SES: 254 0
      UAS: 13 20
      Total time = 4 hours 26 min 51 sec
      SF = 993350
      CRC = 18602
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 255


      Notice the CRC errors, the number keeps climbing until I reset, I think it has fixed itself in the past, and the connection comes back on but im not sure tbh. Also notice how the SNR drops when the connection is lost, as far as I understand it SNR is the strength of the signal that the exchange sends to me over my line, if thats dropping then that could be causing the errors thus loss of connection?.... could I be right?

      could it just be I have a ****ty line? but then why was it fine for months?
      problems only started when SKY messed with the connection settings. but then putting them back to the settings that they were in October when things were fine didn't help.

      Sorry for the long post...

      Any help/suggestions would be much appreciated

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Loss of connection problems

      Have you tried plugging into master test socket?

    4. #3
      Yousef's Avatar
      Yousef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of connection problems

      Yeah have done.

      Was reading an article about disconnecting the ring wires on the phone socket to help increase the noise margin, was thinking about trying that as its only my master socket being used and only for Broadband.

      Only the SKY hardware is being used by the way, no extensions, tried different microfilters, different telephone cables with no change.

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Loss of connection problems

      Test socket is the one found by removing the screws from the master socket and pulling the face plate off, by doing that it will disconnect the extensions if any therefore isolating fault to internal or external wiring.

    6. #5
      Yousef's Avatar
      Yousef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of connection problems

      Yep, I know

      What I was talking about also is the two orange wires behind the test socket, they're only needed to produce the ring tone for a telephone. Supposedly they can cause additional and unnecessary noise.

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Loss of connection problems

      Indeed they can! that was my problem, disconnect them see what happens, they are not required for modern phones anyway they will still ring ok. Would be worth running router for a few hours plugged into the test socket then extract the stats again to see if errors disappear if so deffo internal wiring causing problems.
      Last edited by Koala5; 11-04-07 at 12:31 AM.

    8. #7
      Yousef's Avatar
      Yousef is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of connection problems

      surprisingly my connection hasnt dropped once today. I havent touched the orange wires yet, but I have been plugged into the test socket for a couple of days now. Next time I get disconnected Ill get rid of those wires, will also be using the replacement router soon.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION