Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Migration from Tiscali?

    This is a discussion on Migration from Tiscali? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, first post. Thinking of getting Sky Broadband. It's available in my area and I've registered my interest. My question ...

    1. #1
      Adrian72's Avatar
      Adrian72 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Migration from Tiscali?

      Hi, first post. Thinking of getting Sky Broadband. It's available in my area and I've registered my interest. My question relates to migration from my current ISP, Tiscali

      If I'm on a Datastream, rather than IPstream, with Tiscali will this cause any problems with migration to Sky? I've read lots of information on different sites, some saying that it isn't always possible to migrate from Datastream and others saying it's OK as long as you're not on LLU (which I'm not). Any advice would be appreciated!

      I'm not sure if I am on datastream and I'm not sure how to check - I've seen a way of doing this on a PC but I use an Apple Mac and have not come across a way of checking this that works on a Mac, so any advice on this also would be much appreciated. Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      assos's Avatar
      assos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm no expert on tiscali I thought they didn't issue macs regardless?
      Daniel McGiff - Any Questions? No Questions. Any Problems? No Problems.

    4. #3
      Unregistered's Avatar
      Unregistered Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Tiscali do issue MACs, and I haven't encountered any problems so far. My line was on DataStream (could tell from the MAC). The LLU issue is whether your line is using the LLU, rather than whether you are paying for LLU.

      I asked the question about finding out on the Tiscali forums and there is no surefire method at present. Just give it a go, if you decide not to migrate, the MAC will expire anyway.

      Dave

    5. #4
      chr0nik's Avatar
      chr0nik is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I used to have Tiscali and I was able to migrate to Sky, I even got the router et all, so give it a try.

    6. #5
      tripodjw's Avatar
      tripodjw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Beeston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Nottingham, UK
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I was on Tiscali 1MB, they gave me a MAC code no prob (came through within a couple of hrs by email). And have now been activated on SKy (just haven't managed to get router to connect to sky yet - but that's another problem for another thread i started).

      So generally for me Tiscali-Sky has been fine from the strict switch of providers perspective

    7. #6
      mikey4020's Avatar
      mikey4020 is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Halfway/WSHAL
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium (4th Aug)
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Scotland, UK
      Posts
      611
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I'm migrating from Tiscali (due to be activated tomorrow) and haven't had any problems from them, got my MAC 15 minutes after requesting it so just give it a go and see what happens. Remember that just because you get the MAC it doesn't mean you have to Migrate. If you don't use it within 30 days the code will simply expire. There call centre closes at 18:00 so don't do what I did and leave it until nine o'clock to phone.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION