Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Ongoing problem - Pulling hair out

    This is a discussion on Ongoing problem - Pulling hair out within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey fellow skyusers, im looking for some help on my ongoing problem, Im been avid online game user for the ...

    1. #1
      Bradeh's Avatar
      Bradeh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ongoing problem - Pulling hair out

      Hey fellow skyusers, im looking for some help on my ongoing problem,

      Im been avid online game user for the best 6 years and ive always had this disconnection problem, where i would frequently disconnect throughout the day (less frequent a few years ago) but recently (past 3 days) its been extremely bad and i disconnect after a few minutes of play, because its happened over a 6 year period and over 3 PC's ive ruled out that its a pc problem and more of a technical problem, ive looked at all the normal symptoms such as microfilters and such and im sure its more of an advanced problem to what im guessing is to do with the BT plugs around the house,

      could anyone help me out thanks? (im about to disconnect )

      I know this is not really needed but it might help - my speeds
      http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/3275/sky1zo7.jpg

      My stats
      http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/281/sky2nd7.jpg
      Last edited by Bradeh; 07-04-07 at 07:34 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ongoing problem - Pulling hair out

      Have you tried a connection directly to the test socket behind the faceplate of the master socket (assuming you have NTE5 type sockets). See the link on the right-hand side of this page 'Test your Master Socket'.

      If you get an increase in speed and noise margin then it is safe to assume that the problems lie within the house wiring and not with BT wiring.

      Have you also turned off UPnP in the router menu, as this is a common cause of disconnects on sky.

      If you do get inproved performance, you may want to consider disconnection the ring/bell wires in the BT socket. This can often cause interference to ADSL connections. Many posts on this theme in the 'Cabling and Faceplate Forum'.

      HTH
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Ongoing problem - Pulling hair out

      Welcome to the forum

      You'll find a great deal of useful info on the forum much of it "stickied". Can I suggest you spend a little time reading a few posts. Start with the stickies in my signature at the bottom of this post then maybe have a look at the cabling and faceplate help forum followed by the router stats forum.

      For disconnection issues look to UPnP as a possible issue and turn it off and/or check your noise margins.


      PS the two images you posted are repeating the same info and don't tell much at all.

    5. #4
      Bradeh's Avatar
      Bradeh is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ongoing problem - Pulling hair out

      Thanks,

      When i connect to the test socket i get no signal on my router, not sure what that means.

      I also turned the UPnP off and also removed the ring wire which gave me a boost in download on sky by 5mb

      but, i still have the disconnection problem, could it be something to do with the test socket not responding?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Ongoing problem - Pulling hair out

      There is something wrong if the test socket is not working, it brings the connection into your house. If it is not working, nothing should work. Are you sure you were plugged in properly? If you have one, try using the wire from a dial-up modem, this also rules out problems with the filter. If you use the filter, don't plug a phone into it. This will rule out a problem with your phone. If you get the full line stats using the Mognuts utility, that will give the experts a bit more to go on.

    7. #6
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Ongoing problem - Pulling hair out

      If your test socket dosen't work it sounds like the main socket is wired up incorrectly. The 2 wires from the incoming BT line should be connected to the back of the main part of the socket not the bttom half that pulls off, "hope that makes sense. Dose a normal phone work if you plug it in the test socket?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION