Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    No internet access with Vista

    This is a discussion on No internet access with Vista within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've just set up Vista on a second partition and am dual booting with XP. Everything is fine with XP ...

    1. #1
      allancoblue's Avatar
      allancoblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No internet access with Vista

      I've just set up Vista on a second partition and am dual booting with XP.
      Everything is fine with XP but with Vista I have no net connection and can not access my BT Voyagers configuration page 192.168.1.1, just a blank screen.

      Also does anyone know of a way of finding my Sky user name and password details via the BT Voyager 2110 router?
      I managed it with the original Sky router but didn't seem to save the details anywhere.
      Many thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: No internet access with Vista

      Username & Password; http://dg834gt.mognuts.com/NetgearRouterUtility.html
      See "Get - Username & Password" at the bottom.

      Have you installed the vista drivers, Also, You say it loads blank, Black with the default DNS error message..?

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No internet access with Vista

      You don't need drivers for a router with Vista, or any other OS for that matter,only the network card. I assume this is properly installed or you would be advised by the OS. Check that Vista's firewall is not blocking the router, it is much more robust than XP's and requires a bit of work to set it up properly. If you do this you should have no problems.

      Edit - The address for the router is 192.168.0.1
      Last edited by Isitme; 07-04-07 at 12:52 PM. Reason: added info

    5. #4
      allancoblue's Avatar
      allancoblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No internet access with Vista

      Thanks for the replies,
      though I am using the correct config page 192.168.1.1, as I'm using a BT voyager router, not the Netgear one, so my question about trying to find my user name again is still open if anyone can help.
      I'll take a closer look at Vistas' firewall in the meantime.
      Cheers

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No internet access with Vista

      Fibre' has already given you a link which enables you to do that

      Edit - Sorry, I have read your OP again and realize now that you are trying to get the login details using your BT router. I could be wrong, but as the details are held in the Sky router, I can't see how you can get them out of another router, unless you have already loaded them. Why not get them from the Sky one?
      Last edited by Isitme; 07-04-07 at 05:01 PM. Reason: added info

    7. #6
      allancoblue's Avatar
      allancoblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No internet access with Vista

      Not sure where to go with this....
      Last night out of the blue and having done nothing more, my PC connected up to the net and again for a few minutes this morning.
      However not any more.
      I think it must have something to do with my motherboards LAN, I've updated it with the latest drivers and added a Vista patch from Asrocks website, but it still won't get an IP address. However as soon as I boot via Windows XP it all works.

    8. #7
      allancoblue's Avatar
      allancoblue is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ewell
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No internet access with Vista

      Found out whats causing the problem, its a bug within my Asrock Dual Vsta motherboard and the LAN.
      It's not compitable with Vista and Asrock do not have a fix for it and reccommend using a different O/S!
      However there is a fix of sorts, once the pc loads up, the LAN will be enabled but not working, to get it up and running you have to put the pc in to standby and take it out again, and then it's working.
      This has been known to effect other boards that use the ULI M526X LAN so I'll post this "fix" elsewhere jus in case any one else is having a similar problem.
      All in all its stupid of Asrock to promote motherboards of being Vista ready when clearly they arn't quite.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: No internet access with Vista

      That is rather strange, although some older cards can give problems with Vista, you would not expect it on a supposedly compatible board! The best solution may be to install a PCI network card and disable the onboard one. Just make sure the card is fully compatible with Vista.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION