Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 28

    Problem Not Solved !!!!

    This is a discussion on Problem Not Solved !!!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Put PC on before the football started, went downstairs and watched first half. At half time checked PC and problem ...

    1. #1
      GPKing's Avatar
      GPKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aylesbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Problem Not Solved !!!!

      Put PC on before the football started, went downstairs and watched first half. At half time checked PC and problem has returned - not access to net or router config. So much for my 2 hours trouble free last night! Rebooted everything at half-time. Full time comes and again, no access.
      I am still not running my software firewall.
      Something somewhere has a problem - a problem that has never reaered its ugly head during my 3 or 4 years on broadband, the most recent 2 years being with Wanadoo.
      The only things that have changed are that I am now using a Sky branded Netgear router and that Sky are my ISP.
      It is now back to the point where as far as I am concerned, Sky are not providing a service that I am paying for.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      so you couldnt even access the router admin page in a browser?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      GPKing's Avatar
      GPKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aylesbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yep, thats right - couldn't even get to good old 192.168.0.1
      Tried from both my desktop and laptop - neither of which are running any kind of firewall.

      The only difference from last night (2 hrs uniterrupted access) is that I left the PC alone for 45 mins during which time the screensaver kicked in and then 10 mins later that monitor was powered down. (Waiting for folk to blame the problem on my standard Windows screensaver )

      I am using the very same phone socket as last night, the very same PC with the very same config.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      right i have had this as well

      have you got another local user account log on using windows xp

      ie when it boots up you should have

      user 1

      user 2

      if not creat one in the control panel / users and then log out of your current profile and log into the other one, then try your browser to the router




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      GPKing's Avatar
      GPKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aylesbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hmmmm, if think the answer is yes....

      When I boot up there are four acounts - Gary (ME), Lisa (the Mrs) and one each for the kids. It is extremely rare that the other accounts are used - in fact only my daughter uses her account (seldomly and certainly not tonight).

      Obviously when the SS kicks in and I move the mouse (after more than 1 or 2 secs) I am presented with the "Accounts" screen which obviously reports that my (Gary) account is logged on. I simply click on the icon and I'm back with Windows desktop.

      In short, YES

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      go to start at bottom log off and log on as one of the other accounts and try the browser to get to router, see if works then report back




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      GPKing's Avatar
      GPKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aylesbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Done....

      Logged Off MY account.

      Logged on my Daighter's account.
      - I CAN get to router config
      - I CAN get to internet (Google.co.uk)#

      Logged Off my Daughter's account

      Logged back on MY account
      - I CAN get to router
      - I CAN get to internet

      (Were you expecting it to NOT work under another account?)

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      was expecting it to work first time under another account




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      GPKing's Avatar
      GPKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Aylesbury
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok, so my assumption was wrong and I bow my head in shame for jumping the gun (yet again!!!).

      So, now that it has behaved in the way that you expected (ie, worked under a different account straight away), what's next?

      Many Thanks
      Gary

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      roflmao

      i cant remember what i did after that point, give me 20 mins and i will try and retrace my steps

      I had exactly the same problem, but under another account, i never suffered from it. So it is to do with your profile and the settings.

      As an exercise, next time it does lock off etc just repeat what i suggested, without rebooting router etc, you should find that you can log on to the browser page no problems. This would in my eyes rule out the hardware.

      will get back to you asap




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION