Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Capped ?? - Sanity Check

    This is a discussion on Capped ?? - Sanity Check within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi - I'd appreciate it if someone could cast their eye over mt router stats (below) to confirm my suspicions ...

    1. #1
      Rbfwjp's Avatar
      Rbfwjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Capped ?? - Sanity Check

      Hi - I'd appreciate it if someone could cast their eye over mt router stats (below) to confirm my suspicions that I've been capped at 8M before I phone Sky CS to get it changed. I'm on Sky MAX and am about 900m from the exchange as the crow flys - the ATTN & noise figures suggest I should be getting more like 10-12M - and the line has previously had around that from other ISP's in the past. ANy help/comments would be appreciated - Thanks

      Status: Showtime
      Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7616 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.8 13.0
      Attn(dB): 26.0 18.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 7.8
      Max(Kbps): 8256 1248
      Rate (Kbps): 7616 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 239 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0666 8.6153
      L: 1920 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1890615 1890613
      SFErr: 1051 2510
      RS: 128561844 16070210
      RSCorr: 5931129 1919274
      RSUnCorr: 19288 0

      HEC: 1026 1978
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 577316624 0
      Data Cells: 3486016 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 223 0
      SES: 123 0
      UAS: 26 0
      Total time = 8 hours 56 min 20 sec
      SF = 1890615
      CRC = 1051
      LOS = 137
      LOF = 0
      ES = 223
      Latest 1 day time = 8 hours 56 min 20 sec
      SF = 1890615
      CRC = 1051
      LOS = 137
      LOF = 0
      ES = 223
      Latest 15 minutes time = 11 min 20 sec
      SF = 39992
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 14
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 10
      LOF = 0
      ES = 13
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 31
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 682
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 18


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Capped ?? - Sanity Check

      I suspect that you probably have been capped by sky, as you could reasonably expect to get the maximum 16mb with an attenuatioin of 26db (which, by the way, suggests an actual line length closer to 2 km). However, I also suspect that your errors could go through the roof were you to move on to ADSL2+.

      If possible, you need to connect via the Test Socket, with the short cable supplied. It is behind the faceplate of the Master Socket (If you have, the more modern, NTE5 type socket). Run the connection heavily for a couple of hours and repost your stats. This would help to confirm whether it is your house wiring causing the problem.

      I'll leave it to 'Saturday' to comment further on the errors.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #3
      Rbfwjp's Avatar
      Rbfwjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Capped ?? - Sanity Check

      Hi - Thanks for the feedback - unfortunatly I don't have a NTE5 - the line is delivered to an LJU4/1A (Dual master on an 85mm plate) - the router is the only thing connected to it right now and all extension cabling has been removed.

    5. #4
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Capped ?? - Sanity Check

      Unfortunately, I don't know much about the LJU4/1A master IDC.

      Have you tried removing the bell wire? It's normally on the number 3 terminal. The bell wire sometimes acts as aerial causing interference to your BB connection. You should only need wires connected to terminals 2 and 5 on both sides of the socket.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Capped ?? - Sanity Check

      @rbfwjp

      No, I don't think you've been capped as such. You have however, been put on G.DMT which would limit your connection speed to ~9500kbps with your attenuation were your line relatively noise free. You are getting 7616kbps which suggests your connection speed is being held back by high levels of noise on your line (your line is showing a high level of error which would certainly support this).

      If you are able to identify and remove the cause of the line noise then were Sky to move you to ADSL2+ you could expect to see a connection speed of ~16000kbps.

      As has already been suggested, moving to ADSL2+ now with your current line problems would be a mistake.

    7. #6
      Rbfwjp's Avatar
      Rbfwjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thumbs up Re: Capped ?? - Sanity Check

      thanks for the feedback - I'm going to have a closer look at the wiring over the weekend anyway so I'll see if I can improve things - Also got a ADSL Nation XTF socket which I'll wire directly to the LJU - may also see if I can dig up a BT NTE5 here at work to replace the LJU - thanks again

    8. #7
      Rbfwjp's Avatar
      Rbfwjp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Reading Central
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talking Re: Capped ?? - Sanity Check

      Update - checked & traced the wiring over the weekend and I found an old extension cable buried in the wall - once that was disconnected and the router reset it now syncs at just over 9500kbps and router shows around 8056kbps - the crc and errored seconds counts are now down to less than a dozen in a 24 hour period. S/N figure has risen by about 3-4db as well. I've yet to fit the ADSL Nation filtered socket, but will be interesting to see what that does now.

    9. #8
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Capped ?? - Sanity Check

      Well, sounds as though you have sorted out the wiring problems. Now comes the difficult part. When you are happy that you have done all the improvements, you would need to get through to Tier 3 to have your connection changed from G.dmt to ADSL2+. Tier 3 are the only ones who can do this.

      It may be an idea to post your stats once again so Saturday can confirm that ADSL2+ would be the best option, although, I suspect that you have indeed sorted the problem out.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION