Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

    This is a discussion on trying to connect two laptops to wireless network within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi im new to the skyuser page and am very sorry if i have repeated a post, i have tried ...

    1. #1
      MoncaK's Avatar
      MoncaK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

      hi im new to the skyuser page and am very sorry if i have repeated a post, i have tried searching for a similar problem.

      i have just returned from uni and am trying to connect my laptop to the wireless connection. we already have one laptop connected wirelessly (the one im using right now), but i cannot connect mine.

      at the bottom on the system tray the wirless connection says 'connected to peer to peer connection'?? i can sometimes get it to connect to skyxxx by 'viewing wireless network connections', but cannot open a page on internet explorer (changes back to peer to peer quickly). also i cannot open 192. 168 etc on my laptop.

      the network key is already entered and everything seems fine, but i just cant connect. i have entered my mac address on the router page (from the laptop that works), but no luck.

      hope its not just me being silly! please helpppp! thank youu.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

      Using the utlilities that came with your wireless adapter see if you have selected
      ad-hoc mode instead of infrastructure. Ad hoc is for computer-to-computer file transfer, infrastructure is for a wider network (such as the internet).

    4. #3
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

      Quote Originally Posted by fihart View Post
      Using the utlilities that came with your wireless adapter see if you have selected
      ad-hoc mode instead of infrastructure. Ad hoc is for computer-to-computer file transfer, infrastructure is for a wider network (such as the internet).
      you learn something new everyday!

    5. #4
      MoncaK's Avatar
      MoncaK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

      hi thanks for the reply

      im sorry if im jus slow, but whats the wireless adapter? in the box we jus got the netgear router box thing. is it not all in one? and also how do i chanage to ad-hoc?

    6. #5
      fihart's Avatar
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      824
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

      Hi,

      The wireless adapter built into your laptop. It appears to be working but, as you've realised , it needs settings changed to make it connect.

      As you may see in the manual that came with the laptop, there will be some wireless utilities that you can access from the Start, All programs menu.

      Alternatively you can let Windows manage the connection by going via Start, Connect To.

      You may find it helpful to do this with the other laptop present and just go through it step by step on each machine changing settings to match those on the computer that works.

    7. #6
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

      Hi m8, on the laptop that is enabled try typing 192.168.0.1 into browser and disable security on router and see if that allows access to BOTH laptops.

      This is only a temp fix to ascertain whether your other ones wireless adaptor is OK.

    8. #7
      MoncaK's Avatar
      MoncaK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

      hey guys thank u for the replies

      so i tried disabling from the security settings on the router site... and it worked! both laptops now work. although a bit weird... the laptop that originally worked now says not connected in the system tray, although websites still load?

      but apart from that everything is fine. but now that i have disabled the security settings is there no way i can keep the network safe without it cutting out again?

    9. #8
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

      Quote Originally Posted by MoncaK View Post
      hey guys thank u for the replies

      so i tried disabling from the security settings on the router site... and it worked! both laptops now work. although a bit weird... the laptop that originally worked now says not connected in the system tray, although websites still load?

      but apart from that everything is fine. but now that i have disabled the security settings is there no way i can keep the network safe without it cutting out again?
      Ah, now we are getting somewhere. It would appear one of your laptops has not got WPA security but that's an easy fix.

      Go back to the router setting page and click "WEP (Wired Equivalent Privacy)" then go down and enter any passphrase > click "generate" then accept any one of the 4 passkeys.

      Take note of the one you choose and also copy it, now goto bottom of the page and click apply.

      Now search for wireless networks and accept yours, enter your SSID which is be the same "SKY****" and your new "network key" will be the WEP one you just copied

      Hope this helps m8 and you should be secure from now on

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION