Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.

Advertisement

trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

This is a discussion on trying to connect two laptops to wireless network within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi im new to the skyuser page and am very sorry if i have repeated a post, i have tried ...

MoncaK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

hi im new to the skyuser page and am very sorry if i have repeated a post, i have tried searching for a similar problem.

i have just returned from uni and am trying to connect my laptop to the wireless connection. we already have one laptop connected wirelessly (the one im using right now), but i cannot connect mine.

at the bottom on the system tray the wirless connection says 'connected to peer to peer connection'?? i can sometimes get it to connect to skyxxx by 'viewing wireless network connections', but cannot open a page on internet explorer (changes back to peer to peer quickly). also i cannot open 192. 168 etc on my laptop.

the network key is already entered and everything seems fine, but i just cant connect. i have entered my mac address on the router page (from the laptop that works), but no luck.

hope its not just me being silly! please helpppp! thank youu.

2. Advertisement
      fihart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Thanks

Re: trying to connect two laptops to wireless network

Using the utlilities that came with your wireless adapter see if you have selected
      ad-hoc mode instead of infrastructure. Ad hoc is for computer-to-computer file transfer, infrastructure is for a wider network (such as the internet).