Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Have I been capped?

    This is a discussion on Have I been capped? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had Sky Max for 2 weeks now, initially I had issues but after finding this forum I understand now ...

    1. #1
      Manty's Avatar
      Manty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRWOO
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Have I been capped?

      I've had Sky Max for 2 weeks now, initially I had issues but after finding this forum I understand now that these are mostly router issues (bogs down/freezes after 24 hours, etc).

      However, my main issue is that I think I'm being capped for no reason, as I am able to get a constant 14000kpbs downstream sync whenever I reboot the router, and from what I can tell my attenuation should qualify me to take full advantage of the downstream speed (after rebooting the SNR is around 7dB, it went up to 9 overnight).

      Unfortunately I can never download more than 7500kpbs which seems like an 8Mb cap to me... did they put me on the wrong "package" when they activated?

      Stats posted below, router has been left on overnight after a hard reboot. I have ES and CRC errors, but quite a low margin I think (will be testing on the BT test socket later today).

      Cheers,
      Stu.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 14418 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.6 12.5
      Attn(dB): 23.0 12.8
      Pwr(dBm): 896.0 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 14420 864
      Rate (Kbps): 14418 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 116 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.5282 7.7037
      L: 3862 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 2374008 2374006
      SFErr: 34 1
      RS: 289629020 20179051
      RSCorr: 15006674 620756994
      RSUnCorr: 275 0

      HEC: 31 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1300592893 68916052
      Data Cells: 698007 158021
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 25 1
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 14 18
      Total time = 10 hours 37 min 47 sec
      SF = 2374008
      CRC = 34
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25
      Latest 1 day time = 10 hours 37 min 47 sec
      SF = 2374008
      CRC = 34
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 25
      Latest 15 minutes time = 7 min 47 sec
      SF = 29043
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55852
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 3
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55852
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55913
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55852
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Last edited by Manty; 02-04-07 at 09:34 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Have I been capped?

      Don't confuse connection speed with download speed.

      Connection speed is what your router syncs at. Yours is 14418kbps which is a shade low for your attenuation. There are many reasons for why this might be - capping is unlikely as I'm struggling to wonder why Sky would cap your connection speed at only ~1000kbps less than the max normally achieved.

      Download speed is the speed your router can feed data to your PC. Due to transmission overheads this will never be much more than ~85% of the connection speed. Capping affects connection speed directly so download speed indirectly.

      Your download speed is low for your connection speed. Again there are many reasons for this, the two most common being overloaded speedtest servers and incorrect TCP/IP settings in the PC. If the latter see the second sticky in my signature at the bottom of this post.

      HTH

    4. #3
      Manty's Avatar
      Manty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRWOO
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have I been capped?

      Hi, thanks, I still think something is suss but don't get me wrong, I'm still more than happy with my connection

      I use a PC and Mac, both exhibit 7000kbps of download speed (according to speedtest, and assuming its not overloaded).

      Will test the wiring anyway as I'm curious about the BT master socket.

      Stu.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Have I been capped?

      I'm not sure that you read my post?

      The question you asked was were you capped. As I said, that's not likely but your download speed is too low for that connection speed. I suggested two possible reasons - server overload and incorrect TCP/IP settings - and offered a solution to the second. Actually, there's one more likely reason and that's that you are connected wirelessly - you didn't say what your connection is.

      I'm not at all sure why you're now thinking of testing your wiring? Your line shows a very low level of errors for such a high connection speed so I doubt that's an issue. For line errors to affect your download speed to the extent you say the errors would have to be 1000x+ higher.

      Have you tried TCPOptimizer (for your PC) as suggested with a wired connection? Surely best to start with the most likely before moving to other possible reasons.
      Last edited by Saturday; 03-04-07 at 12:32 PM.

    6. #5
      Hughjarse's Avatar
      Hughjarse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have I been capped?

      Search for and run the TCP optimizer on this forum.
      I think you are a perfect candidate for this; In fact Im sure it will massively help you out.

      You are getting your speed from a test site arent you, and not just randomly downloading?
      My Bot Aint that big

    7. #6
      Manty's Avatar
      Manty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRWOO
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Have I been capped?

      Lots of confusion here, not what I intended.

      Basically, I was saying that although I sync at a decent speed with the exchange (15300kbps today) I can only ever download data from sites/usenet/email/ftp etc, at around 7500kbps...

      The question to me then becomes, am I capped?
      And thus, is this as a result of a bad signal (whence the wiring question).

      Though I don't believe it is wiring, as you say, and it isn't a cap. I was just under the impression from my noise figures that I should be able to get at least 10mbps based on the sync, noise, etc. edit: I'm also 1.3km from the exchange 'as the crow flies' so to speak.

      The TCP settings are irrelevant in this case, as I use a Mac and have already done that step on my PC. Both machines are connected by ethernet btw.

      I was purely curious as to why I couldn't achieve more than 7000+kbps downloads, from anywhere, not just speedtest, it seemed like a restriction to me, thats all.
      Last edited by Manty; 03-04-07 at 02:44 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION