Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Solving sky connect speed issues

    This is a discussion on Solving sky connect speed issues within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I just thought i'd pass on a link to a rather good website that has given me answers to speed ...

    1. #1
      walmo's Avatar
      walmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Balham
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Balham
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Solving sky connect speed issues

      I just thought i'd pass on a link to a rather good website that has given me answers to speed issues on connect. It's very thorough and provides links to a variety of tests. In particular this page has a link to BT's bRAS profile tester which can let you know if they've artificially lowered your speed (inspite of a high sync rate) which is what has happened to me.

      Moderators you might want to have a look and sticky the link somewhere, as i couldn't find a link to a lot of this stuff on this forum.

      ::. Kitz - Slow Speeds .::

      P.S. does anyone know the best way to get your bRAS profile sorted out?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solving sky connect speed issues

      From what I can gather, it adapts the rate to what your line can handle. This is a remote process at the BTw exchange. If you can improve your connection, surely the bRAS will sort itself out.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #3
      walmo's Avatar
      walmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Balham
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Balham
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solving sky connect speed issues

      That is how it should work but, in my case, i always sync at 8128 kbs but my bras profile has been set at 3500 (it should be 7150) and this has been the case for at least a month. Previously i was getting full speed for the first two months without problems. The maximum update time for a bRAS profile should be three days. Apparently there are times when it doesn't update the profile and you have to ring up to request a profile reset. I'm not sure whether this is on purpose to throttle the connection or there is a bug somewhere. I'm moving house next week so i haven't bothered to get it sorted, in the hope that it will work when i get a new line and i won't have to ring customer support.

      If anyone wants to test there line they'll need there sky user name. I got it from Mossywells bounce programme but i understand it's just maccode@skydsl

    5. #4
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solving sky connect speed issues

      Quote Originally Posted by walmo View Post
      The maximum update time for a bRAS profile should be three days. Apparently there are times when it doesn't update the profile and you have to ring up to request a profile reset.
      Ok, now I see. I'd not heard of that before but will keep it in mind.

      If anyone wants to test there line they'll need there sky user name. I got it from Mossywells bounce programme but i understand it's just maccode@skydsl
      That's correct. I used it myself a little while ago and it does, as you say, give me 7150 kbps throughput/profile.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    6. #5
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solving sky connect speed issues

      I see you are suffering the same problem as me a stuck BRAS.

      Mine has been 2000kbps for 2weeks or more now.

      What does the BTwholesale checker say you're line can handle?

      BT Wholesale - Broadband Services

      I was told cause this says 2mb or more they capped me to 2mb.

      This is nonsense as i always sync at 8128.

    7. #6
      walmo's Avatar
      walmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Balham
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Balham
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solving sky connect speed issues

      Who did you ring that said that? on the wholesale checker it should say you can support upto 8mbs on maxdsl given your sync rate (rather than standard DSL) which bras should then monitor and keep you at the maximum you can handle which should be you sync rate minus TCP/IP overheads rounded to one of there preset values (as i understand it)

    8. #7
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solving sky connect speed issues

      Tier 1 told me that, they used a checker and said "it says 2mbps or more" therefore your line is only 2mb

    9. #8
      walmo's Avatar
      walmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Balham
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Balham
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solving sky connect speed issues

      oh dear, i know there not supposed to be experts, but they should know the basics. ring again insist on tier 3 ticket being raised and then look in the tier 3 sticky in this part of the forum to find there direct number and contact tier 3 directly as i think they'll be the only ones who can get this sorted out. I really hope i never have to contact tier 1 for anything complicated, (i'm hoping they'll be able to fathom moving house)

    10. #9
      BuckleZ's Avatar
      BuckleZ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Londonderry Waterside
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Londonderry
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solving sky connect speed issues

      Just spoke to Tier 2 (who deal with Connect) - Tier 3 are only for LLU connections.

      The girl tried a whoosh test which failed - so she has logged a fault with BT hopefully will all be sorted

    11. #10
      walmo's Avatar
      walmo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Balham
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Balham
      Posts
      26
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Solving sky connect speed issues

      That's good to know about tier 2. did it take you long to get through to them?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION