Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??

    This is a discussion on Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, At present I am with Madasafish, tomorrow my Sky becomes active (well according to my letter) But I have ...

    1. #1
      GedNE's Avatar
      GedNE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??

      Hi,

      At present I am with Madasafish, tomorrow my Sky becomes active (well according to my letter)

      But I have just found out something interesting, but yet very confusing, while doing a few preliminary checks on my broadband line.

      I checked my broadband line status at:

      Prodigy Networks

      And it stated the following:

      Line speed capabilities
      Rate adaptive (250k and 500k) : Green
      Fixed Rate (1000k and 2000k) : Amber
      MAX speed (upto 8000k) : Green (1000 kbps)

      From what I can see from above (tell me if I am wrong here..) I should only be able to get 1000kbps? .. but on MAAF I presently get anything between 3200 kbps - 4500 kbps ...

      I know my exchange is MAX enabled etc.. and anyway my brother (2 doors away) has a reading of:
      Line speed capabilities

      Rate adaptive (250k and 500k) : Green
      Fixed Rate (1000k and 2000k) : Green
      MAX speed (upto 8000k) : Green (8000 kbps)

      Now I am not complaining or anything. The question I have is will this exchange info for my broadband line have an influence on my Sky broadband connection??.... I hope I don't go from having the speeds I have now, down to 1000kbps or less because of it??

      Does any member know how I can change this broadband information on my line? Is that a call to BT? Or a ISP thing? Because obvioulsy the information is wrong if I am getting the speeds I have now while still on Madasafish?

      I am a little confused.. (doesn't take much! )
      Any help appreciated....I am on the PETERLEE exchange (for my sins!)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??

      Wait till tomorrow, on the BT checker it says my line could only get approx 2mb. After changing my master socket for a new faceplate filtered for ADSL I got just over 6mb, and on Sky just under 7mb.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      GedNE's Avatar
      GedNE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??

      Thanks Newsreader..

      Actually on the point of that faceplate you fitted... I have seeen a link somewhere to purchase one, but forgot where..

      You couldn't post me the link could you? Been strongly thinking of replacing mine for a while, so with new ISp and all, maybe it time I did.

      Thanks!

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??





      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??

      First post in this thread contains the link and some other useful info.

      ADSL Nation NTE-2005 Master face plate
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    7. #6
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??

      Snap

      1 - 0...
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??

      lol

      I got there first though




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      GedNE's Avatar
      GedNE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??

      LOL

      Cheers for link guys..saved me a job searching!

    10. #9
      Jack_Bauer's Avatar
      Jack_Bauer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Checker.. Bit Confused??

      Quote Originally Posted by GedNE View Post
      Hi,

      At present I am with Madasafish, tomorrow my Sky becomes active (well according to my letter)

      But I have just found out something interesting, but yet very confusing, while doing a few preliminary checks on my broadband line.

      I checked my broadband line status at:

      Prodigy Networks

      You'll probably find an extremley wide variation on the possible speeds available throughout all the many DSL line checkers. What you have to bear in mind is that the majority of these checkers work on a guesstimate of straight line distance between your house and your telephone exchange.

      Wait until you've got your Sky router and your line's active and check your downstream/upstream connection speeds from your router settings page

      Oh and welcome to Sky broadband btw
      )
      ..) .) .) .) .) .)
      (. (.` (. 24 on Sky 1 - Jack's back

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION