Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

    This is a discussion on Can I get higher upload speed on Max? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I am currently on Connect (5) and my exchange has just been LLU 'd and I want to change to ...

    1. #1
      sirrus's Avatar
      sirrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Bicester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      I am currently on Connect (5) and my exchange has just been LLU'd and I want to change to Max mainly for a higher upload speed. You will see from stats below that Sky probably won't put me on ADSL2 because download would not be any better. However if they did not put me on ADSL2 with Max would I be able to get the higher upload speed of 768kbs, or would it be somewhere in between based on line quality?

      Most discussion is download speeds but as I make a lot of use of Slingbox, upload is also important.

      Any one have any views /knowledge about this?

      Thanks

      Richard



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5504 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 27.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.6 db 21.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      Quote Originally Posted by sirrus View Post
      would I be able to get the higher upload speed of 768kbs
      You should do. ADSL "favours" upstream when allocating connection frequency bands so uploads rarely suffer much unless the connection is particularly poor.

    4. #3
      sirrus's Avatar
      sirrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Bicester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Re: Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      Hi

      Well I did upgrade to Max but results are mixed and not exactly as I wanted. I am not on ADSL2+ , which is ok cos of my line quality. My synch speed has gone up to 6300kbs and I've seen it at 6500kbs and reported downloads are hitting 5100kbs ., all up about 1000kbs

      However although my upload synch has gone up to 768kbs the actual upload speed remains at the Base/Mid level. So my main objective of going to Max for a higher upload speed has not been met

      Some questions if anyone can help.

      Have I got a capped upload that could be higher if uncapped?
      Will Sky uncap it anyway?
      Stats are below. Can anyone with similar stats give me an idea of what actual upload speeds they see?
      And finally I guess you can't cos it's built into standard, but wouldn't it be nice to be able to trade download for upload speeds based on your individual needs. Is this possible technically?

      Thanks for any input.

      Richard

      Stats

      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 7.6 14.0
      Attn(dB): 52.0 30.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.7 9.8
      Max(Kbps): 6912 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 6240 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 196(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      Your upstream connection isn't capped so no your uploads aren't either - unless they've chosen just you to throttle

      I can't think of an obvious reason for why your upload speed doesn't seem to have increased. How are you measuring it?

      Might also be worth running TCPoptimizer.

    6. #5
      sirrus's Avatar
      sirrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Bicester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      Thanks I tried TCPoptimiser but it made no difference. I get the same speed results across 4 PC's that can be connected to the network, but worth a try anyway.

      I use a number of speed test sites and results are generally consistent, this is the latest from Thinkbroadband.com
      thinkbroadband :: Broadband Speed Test

      Any other ideas welcome.

      Richard

    7. #6
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      Hmm.

      Is your line running a lot of errors? Both your download speed and upload speed are low for your router connection speeds. This can be caused by data arriving corrupt and needing to be resent.

    8. #7
      sirrus's Avatar
      sirrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Bicester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      Not sure how to interpret the results below. Only been running couple of hours - is this a lot of errors?

      SNR (dB): 6.9 14.0
      Attn(dB): 52.0 30.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.7 9.8
      Max(Kbps): 6912 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 6240 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 196(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 198 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0804 8.6153
      L: 1592 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 569530 569528
      SFErr: 23 0
      RS: 38728076 4840988
      RSCorr: 698051 202
      RSUnCorr: 296 0

      HEC: 21 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 142487523 0
      Data Cells: 3977885 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 17 0
      SES: 8 0
      UAS: 77 0
      Total time = 2 hours 51 min 21 sec
      SF = 597640
      CRC = 24
      LOS = 19
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17


      Richard

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      Quote Originally Posted by sirrus View Post
      is this a lot of errors?
      No, not too bad.

      To rule out your internal wiring being the problem it may be worth connecting the router to the test socket (hidden behind the faceplate of your master socket) and running a couple more speed tests.

      One other thing - should have asked earlier - you are on a wired connection aren't you?

    10. #9
      sirrus's Avatar
      sirrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Bicester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      I am attached direct to a BT engineer installed ADSL socket. I guess equivalent to the test socket? No harm in getting the cover off though and checking nothings come adrift. However my line stats are very similar to neighbours so don't think that's the fundamental issue. Downloads have been a little higher than reported above, often above 5000kbs since moving to Max so as I said earlier reasonably happy with that.

      Yes I am on wired ethernet!!

      Maybe they have just capped my upload, either deliberately or accidentally.

      Richard

    11. #10
      sirrus's Avatar
      sirrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bicester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Bicester
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can I get higher upload speed on Max?

      Just to update for anyone reading this. I checked the wiring and discovered about 6ft coiled up before the socket, so I trimmed it back and re-did all the connections in the socket. It's made a small difference though it might just be the time of day. Synch speeds are the same but upload speed have gone up slightly so suggests it's not a capping issue. I guess it is just the maximum upload my line can support and I'd be wasting/time money talking to Sky. See latest speed test thinkbroadband :: Broadband Speed Test

      One other option would be to drop back to Mid for month then re-instate Max, might then discover whether it's something at their end in the setup.

      Thanks for your help anyway

      Richard

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION