Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

    This is a discussion on Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Im on the Max package with LLU and yesterday we had a powercut during the day and I can now ...

    1. #1
      mossmanfly's Avatar
      mossmanfly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      Im on the Max package with LLU and yesterday we had a powercut during the day and I can now see my sync speed is now 3840 no matter what the line stats are or the time of day. Before this I could sync at over 5000 in the day but night was 4256 or 4128. I normally just left it synced at the lower figures just so it didnt resync. I was activated on the 6th March but was disconnected due to the cease order mess up on the 9th. Wasnt reconnected till the 20th or 21st, and since that date I have had the router on at 4128 all of that time with no sync issues.

      I know 3840 isnt much slower but its still 288kbps down on what I had before and which was completely stable connection.

      I have heard that after about 10 days Sky lock the connection down to a stable rate, but only on standard ADSL connections and not on LLU is this correct? I have tried another router and its the same.

      Is there anything I can do to get that bit of extra speed? As I said it was perfectly stable at 4128 and would like to be able to connect at that speed again.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      Have you tried rebooting/resting router?
      Thats correct 10 day training period only applies to Connect package, Not Base/Mid or Max LLU.

    4. #3
      mossmanfly's Avatar
      mossmanfly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      Yes I have reboot the router, even tried my old router and its the same.

      As I had the problem with Sky getting BT to cease the line 3 days after activation I wouldnt have been put on normal ADSL max or something like that instead of the LLU? Just seems strange that the speed seems to have locked down to a particular sync speed. The line stats are fine, and the same as they have been, may try different filters or something.

    5. #4
      mossmanfly's Avatar
      mossmanfly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      Anyone got any more ideas? Reading other posts it seems it may be capped at that speed, as doing reboots etc it still connects at 3840. Would powering it down over night be any help?

      I would call Sky but with there tech support system it will probably take a few weeks to get to someone that can do something, other than say, check your cables, reboot router etc.

      At the current moment these are my stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3840 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47.0 db 30.5 db
      Noise Margin 11.3 db 13.0 db

      Dont know how to get all the other info like I see on other posts. The Noise margin on the download can go to about 5db at night when I was running at 4256. But it was completely stable at that speed and the router didnt resync.
      Last edited by mossmanfly; 05-04-07 at 12:29 PM.

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      I would use the mognuts util to obtain your detailed router stats and post them on he site, then someone should be able to tell you if you are capped or if you have line problems errors etc.
      Last edited by Koala5; 05-04-07 at 12:44 PM.

    7. #6
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      Yes you can find mognuts utility, to get the detailed stats, here:

      Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4

      Click 'Get Detailed Modem Statistics'
      Follow the information in the box
      Sign in to your router: Username = Admin, and Password = Sky (Unless you have changed it)
      Click the back button on your browser
      Download and/or open the file using notepad or wordpad.
      Then paste them in here
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    8. #7
      mossmanfly's Avatar
      mossmanfly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      Heres my stats.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3840 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 12.1 13.0
      Attn(dB): 47.0 30.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.9 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 4768 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 3840 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 121(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 121 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1311 8.6153
      L: 976 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 17513444 17513442
      SFErr: 69383 44
      RS: 1190914252 148864257
      RSCorr: 6539708 5646
      RSUnCorr: 1862149 0

      HEC: 67189 38
      OCD: 2227 28
      LCD: 6 14
      Total Cells: 2694286395 0
      Data Cells: 822765876 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 5165 0
      SES: 4094 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 days 10 hours 42 min 39 sec
      SF = 17513444
      CRC = 69383
      LOS = 14781
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5165
      Latest 1 day time = 10 hours 42 min 39 sec
      SF = 2268186
      CRC = 11461
      LOS = 1944
      LOF = 0
      ES = 769
      Latest 15 minutes time = 12 min 39 sec
      SF = 44696
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 3
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082322
      CRC = 26463
      LOS = 5559
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1657
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2

    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      Your line attenuation seems quite high which would indicate you are a long way from the exchange??? Also you are generating quite high CRC errors on the line. I would try plugging into the test socket behind the master socket face plate assuming you have a NTE5 master socket. See if that helps at all.

    10. #9
      mossmanfly's Avatar
      mossmanfly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      Yes im about 3-3.5km from the exchange in terms of line length, I was told this by a BT engineer a few years ago when they were doing some routine work in the street and they accidently disconnected the line.

      I will see about putting the router on the main socket, but I cant really keep it there. What gets me is that before it was syncing at different speeds, but now I can only sync at 3840 no matter what time of day or the stats. I have tried my old router and thats the same. I will try it downstairs with the master socket with all other devices unplugged to see if that makes a difference.

    11. #10
      mossmanfly's Avatar
      mossmanfly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Stuck at 3840kbps after powercut

      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3840 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.3 13.0
      Attn(dB): 47.0 30.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.9 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 4768 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 3840 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 121(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 121 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.1311 8.6153
      L: 976 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 32692070 32692068
      SFErr: 94071 106
      RS: 2223060788 277882578
      RSCorr: 14508321 10392
      RSUnCorr: 2572130 0

      HEC: 90101 96
      OCD: 3421 50
      LCD: 10 24
      Total Cells: 735354914 0
      Data Cells: 1331904896 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 7864 0
      SES: 6379 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 1 days 10 hours 23 min 19 sec
      SF = 32692070
      CRC = 94071
      LOS = 21177
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7864
      Latest 1 day time = 10 hours 23 min 19 sec
      SF = 2199965
      CRC = 5653
      LOS = 1330
      LOF = 0
      ES = 526
      Latest 15 minutes time = 8 min 19 sec
      SF = 29406
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 12
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      Previous 1 day time = 24 hours 0 sec
      SF = 5082263
      CRC = 6171
      LOS = 1676
      LOF = 0
      ES = 706
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 11
      LOF = 0
      ES = 8
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 21
      LOF = 0
      ES = 10
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 26
      LOS = 63
      LOF = 0
      ES = 23


      These are the current stats. Koala5 you mention I have alot of CRC errors, what will that do to the connection? Speeds seem fine to me, will it cause my speeds to drop at all or does it have some other affect?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION