Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

    This is a discussion on Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Everyone, Just found this site and am thinking of joining Sky Broadband and wondered if I could ask a ...

    1. #1
      Dumfy's Avatar
      Dumfy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: llanishen
      Broadband ISP: max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query



      Hi Everyone,

      Just found this site and am thinking of joining Sky Broadband and wondered if I could ask a couple of questions, please?

      First off, is it recommended? I'm currently with Pipex which is now working out expensive and they traffic manage P2P stuff. Does Sky do this at all?

      Do Sky provide you with all details needed to set up your account manually? I'd rather set it all up myself than use an install CD. I'd prefer to use Firefox and Thunderbird/Outlook Express instead and was wondering if Sky give out Usernames/Passwords and email account settings (pop/smtp etc). Can you use Sky for email this way or is it solely webmail based? I've read somewhere that Usernames/Passwords are locked into the router on an individual basis. Is this true?

      I don't really need the McAffee stuff either or a router and was wondering if I could set up with my current ADSL modem - Alcatel 330 Speedtouch.

      Basically, what I'm looking for is to use Sky as a direct replacement for my current set up and reduce costs - not use any of the stuff they bundle with sign-up. The router may be handy in the future I guess.

      Many thanks for the help

      Dumfy


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

      Quote Originally Posted by Dumfy View Post
      First off, is it recommended? I'm currently with Pipex which is now working out expensive and they traffic manage P2P stuff. Does Sky do this at all?
      I would say yes, definitely recommended, however it does not always go to plan, however taking the risk is worth it.

      As for shaping, only on the Connect package, Base Mid and Max carry no shaping as it is today.

      Do Sky provide you with all details needed to set up your account manually? I'd rather set it all up myself than use an install CD.
      Yes - all you need to do is plug the router into a network card / wireless card. The router has your username and password hard coded into it.

      I'd prefer to use Firefox and Thunderbird/Outlook Express instead and was wondering if Sky give out Usernames/Passwords and email account settings (pop/smtp etc).
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-outlook.html

      Can you use Sky for email this way or is it solely webmail based? I've read somewhere that Usernames/Passwords are locked into the router on an individual basis. Is this true?
      Only the router username and password

      I don't really need the McAffee stuff either or a router and was wondering if I could set up with my current ADSL modem - Alcatel 330 Speedtouch.
      The McAffee software imho is pants, as for using your own router, its against the T and C's

      Can I Use my own Router with Sky Broadband?


      Oh and btw welcome aboard to SkyUser




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

      well 1st of all u dont need the cd u just plug in the router and ur on you . yes u can use ur own email client see the email section of this site and it will tll u what to do. lastly yes the sky router does have ur username and password locked to it but u can get them back using mognuts uttillity
      - Andrew W -

    5. #4
      Dumfy's Avatar
      Dumfy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: llanishen
      Broadband ISP: max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

      Cheers!.........and thanks for the help and quick responses.

      A colleague of mine at work has recently signed up for the Mid Package - 5 per month/40Gb limit. He was told by Sky that this 5 is only an introductory offer for 6 months after which it goes up to 17.99

      Is this true as I haven't seen this anywhere mentioned in the details. He never realised either until the bloke on the phone from Sky told him.

      If this is the case, anybody know how much the Max package will go up to?

      Or has he been given false info? Hope so.

      Thanks again

      Dumfy

    6. #5
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

      The Mid price is 5 perminant, I have no idea why they told him it goes up after 6 months as that is not the case.

    7. #6
      sterankin's Avatar
      sterankin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

      I'm guessing your friend is like me - was told he would be getting the Mid, but in actual fact - he is on sky connect at a special offer of 5 a month for 6 months. The reason for this is that within those 6 months, the base, mid and max packages should be available in his area so he can switch.

      When I signed up I was told I was on the surf, see, speak package for 26 a month, which included the 5 Mid BB.
      It was only when I rang sky to query my bill did they tell me I was on connect for 6 months and the price would go up to 17! Hopefully I can switch to Mid etc before then if it is available...

    8. #7
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

      Quote Originally Posted by sterankin View Post
      I'm guessing your friend is like me - was told he would be getting the Mid, but in actual fact - he is on sky connect at a special offer of 5 a month for 6 months. The reason for this is that within those 6 months, the base, mid and max packages should be available in his area so he can switch.

      When I signed up I was told I was on the surf, see, speak package for 26 a month, which included the 5 Mid BB.
      It was only when I rang sky to query my bill did they tell me I was on connect for 6 months and the price would go up to 17! Hopefully I can switch to Mid etc before then if it is available...
      If they didn't tell you this when you registered and you still cant get on mid after 6 months just complain because they did not tell you the full terms of the contract!

    9. #8
      sterankin's Avatar
      sterankin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

      Yeah - I will def do that. It seems they will only give the 5 deal to people in areas where they are confident the roll out will be within the next 6 months.

      I put in my friends phone number on the sky website to see if he could get the same, but it was coming up that he could only get the 17.99 a month sky connect..

    10. #9
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

      Quote Originally Posted by sterankin View Post
      Yeah - I will def do that. It seems they will only give the 5 deal to people in areas where they are confident the roll out will be within the next 6 months.

      I put in my friends phone number on the sky website to see if he could get the same, but it was coming up that he could only get the 17.99 a month sky connect..
      very true mate but if they have problems upgrading your exchange they may try and sting you. My sky BB has been fine but reading up on here there have been problems!

    11. #10
      GedNE's Avatar
      GedNE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Forum Newbie & Sky Broadband Query

      Just fro any new members who are "almost" upon activation..

      As this post mentioned pop settings.. yeah i know there is a link already, however.. the outgoing server (smtp.sky.com) didn't work, so just put it down to not being properly activated yet..

      Ah ha, but just entered mail.sky.com instead and it worked fine, may help others in same situation..

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION