Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Limited to 512KB when I currently get 1.7MB??

    This is a discussion on Limited to 512KB when I currently get 1.7MB?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I used to be on BT ages ago and I was limited to 0.5 meg connection (thats the fastest they ...

    1. #1
      scoopy2scoops's Avatar
      scoopy2scoops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Farnworth
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Limited to 512KB when I currently get 1.7MB??

      I used to be on BT ages ago and I was limited to 0.5 meg connection (thats the fastest they said my phone line could take). I then moved to UKONLINE, they've been able to provide me with a 1.7MB ADSL connection on the same line. I understand the reason UKONLINE can provide me with a faster connection is because they use their own equipment in the BT Exchange (LLU) and their not bound my BT's limitations.

      I've just become a SKY customer and I'm interested in taking advantage of the SKY broadband offers. When I called them they said i'd be limited to 0.5 meg connection (they use the BT line checker). Now I understand SKY Broadband is also LLU, so SKY have their own equipment in the BT Exchanges just like UKONLINE.

      So why is it UKONLINE can give me 1.7MB but SKY Broadband keep saying 0.5 is my max.

      I really like the SKY Broadband offer but dopping down to a 0.5 meg connection isn't an option.

      Help would be really appreciated as SKY customer service really couldn't answer my question.
      Last edited by scoopy2scoops; 26-03-07 at 05:09 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Limited to 512KB when I currently get 1.7MB??

      Welcome to the forum

      As I understand it, the figure Sky CS quote is, as you say, the result they get from the line checker. Very often this is shown to be incorrect and I'm pretty confident you'll actually get the max speed your line can deliver. If you get 1.7meg with UKONLINE then that's what you can expect from Sky.

    4. #3
      scoopy2scoops's Avatar
      scoopy2scoops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Farnworth
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited to 512KB when I currently get 1.7MB??

      Thanks for your advice - If i do take up SKY on their offer and i am in fact limited to 512kb is there anyway i can cancel (is there a cooling off period) or am i going to have to either put up with 512kbps or buy my way out of the contract

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Limited to 512KB when I currently get 1.7MB??

      Yes there's a cooling off period - 8 or maybe 10 days I think.

    6. #5
      skyjimt's Avatar
      skyjimt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Limited to 512KB when I currently get 1.7MB??

      I had similar issues on BT. I had 2meg service at vast cost, when i went to cancel I was offered 8meg at lower cost. The speed dropped to 1 meg!. Numerous frustrating calls to India call centre failed to resolve the problem. I was told it was the best I could expect, they just looked at same line checker. Despite the fact that it was quicker before!. I dumped BT & joined Sky & now get 4meg. Same line/pc/distance..... The checker does not seem to be too accurate.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION