Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Slow Sky BB speed

    This is a discussion on Slow Sky BB speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I received BB through Sky nearly a month ago, I switched from Virgin/NTL with the temptation of low priced Sky ...

    1. #1
      tin_mun's Avatar
      tin_mun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow Sky BB speed

      I received BB through Sky nearly a month ago, I switched from Virgin/NTL with the temptation of low priced Sky a big factor.

      Since I started using Sky the maximum speed I receive is

      DownStream Connection Speed 288 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 288 kbps

      as you can see this is hideous. I live 80 metres from the exchange and on Mid package.

      I spoke to Sky and they said I should be receiving 6.5mb, after useless troubleshooting they raised a call to Tier 3 and told they would ring me back in 5 days. Not sattisfied with this I rang them 2 days later and got through to tier 3, they couldnt figure it out and said I had 'inconclusive results'. They then sent a call over to BT to do some tests which will take 48 hrs. I rang them 48 hrs later (today) and told the call was 'work in progress' and tech support wouldnt transfer me through to tier 3.

      Any advice would be appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Slow Sky BB speed

      Thats a pretty bad speed to have.

      Have you ruled out your wiring by checking the test socket?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

      Also can you post your stats?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-routerstats.html




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      tin_mun's Avatar
      tin_mun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky BB speed

      Thanks for responding, I'm going to try the socket later today and post a reply later

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky BB speed

      I'd be staggered if you get a different speed connected to the test socket. That looks like a T3 cap which they do while investigating line problems.

    6. #5
      tin_mun's Avatar
      tin_mun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky BB speed

      Had a bit of a nightmare again today, rang Sky to get some feedback on the BT call as I had received no call again. Got through to T2 this time and they said that BT have come back with no issues found.

      Sky then told me they will do another test and ring me back in 10-15 mins, 2 hours later I rang again to be told that they would ring me back in 15 mins as they will do a line test. I then get a call back 40 mins later telling me that they cant see an issue and it has gone back to BT so an engineer may be called out.

      I checked connection through master socket and not much difference, below are the stats not through master.

      System Up Time 04:37:29
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 18840 17508 0 176 1155 04:32:53
      LAN 10M/100M 3370 2633 0 216 12 04:37:27
      WLAN 11M/54M 20383 17267 0 1003 186 04:37:17

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 288 kbps 288 kbps
      Line Attenuation 4.0 db 5.0 db
      Noise Margin 30.3 db 26.0 db


      The only difference in stats with the phone and router through master and router on its own was that the router on its own through master had +1 db upstream noise margin

    7. #6
      tin_mun's Avatar
      tin_mun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky BB speed

      Sorry I'm a newbie to this, I meant test socket not master socket

      Probably same thing but just in case thought I would mention it

    8. #7
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky BB speed

      I think that Saturday has been proved right (again) and you have been capped, probably while some problem was investigated.

      The only way to get the cap removed is to get through to Tier 3 tech support and explain the problem. You may have to get a ticket raised for Tier 3, (more phone calls I'm afraid), as they are the only ones who can remove the cap. Explain you have been capped at this speed and you would like to have it removed. The problem will be getting through Tiers 1 and 2 to speak to them.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    9. #8
      tin_mun's Avatar
      tin_mun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky BB speed

      Thanks for replying, I rang Sky again tonight to see if there was any update from the call to BT as I was told it would take 24 hrs but when I rang I was then told it takes 48 hrs not 24 hrs as advised by T2 guy. I said first of all that I wanted to speak to T3 but I was told I couldnt as the call isnt with T3. He then done yet another line test after I told him its still running at 288kbps.

      So I mentioned the capping to tech support and a bit unconvincingly was told that this had already been checked.

      I feel that I'm getting fobbed off all over the place on this one, support dont seem to have a clue and in the meantime I'm left with the amazing speed of 288kbps.

      Any advice?

    10. #9
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Sky BB speed

      Yes, I think you are being fobbed off too.

      Unfortunately, as far as I know, the only way to get a cap removed is for Tier 3 to do it. Tier 2 will likely find nothing wrong with the line and could either close the ticket or move it up to Tier 3, but I wouldn't hold my breath. Sorry I don't have any more suggestions but to keep on trying to get through to Tier 3.

      You could also try email, it's free but it seems the results are a bit hit and miss.

      If anybody else has any suggestions please feel free to comment
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION