Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 34

    They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

    This is a discussion on They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone shed some light on this please? 1. Ordered Sky BB 8th and gave them my Tiscali MAC code. ...

    1. #1
      SkyBroadbandSuck's Avatar
      SkyBroadbandSuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      Can anyone shed some light on this please?

      1. Ordered Sky BB 8th and gave them my Tiscali MAC code. No Sky at my exchange so have to use Sky Connect. No problems told should be down a short time on the switch date which was (later) given as 19th.

      2. Tiscali stops working on 9th, Tiscali say Sky have "seized" the line.

      3. After 11 days of calling Sky, today they say that they did not use the MAC code as "they only use this in the final stage".

      To summarise:

      1. I have Sky at the moment telling me they are waiting for BT, will get back to me, blah blah.

      2. Tiscali saying that Sky have the line.

      3. And the very latest today from BT although they did tell me before that Sky have the line they now so they don't know and they are not sure what "PROVIDE LLU - SHIFT SMPF" which was ordered on 8th and completed on the 9th is. The lady thinks it might just be some random fault that was fixed.

      No wonder people get so fed up with all this.

      I for one have had it with the useless lies from Sky that they will get back to me.

      Now I just want them off my line so that I can get back on BB with a company that knows what they are doing or are at least prepared to try and help.

      pmcg


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      nobroadband's Avatar
      nobroadband is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southminster
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      Quote Originally Posted by SkyBroadbandSuck View Post

      1. I have Sky at the moment telling me they are waiting for BT, will get back to me, blah blah.

      2. Tiscali saying that Sky have the line.
      Have you asked BT Wholesale 0800 1699576 who has the line & is a there a tag on it or is it an active adsl line .If it's an active line you can get a MAC code out of Sky (contary to what they or BT Wholesale may say) I got a code for a line they claim they never conected & used it to migrate to UKFSN

    4. #3
      SkyBroadbandSuck's Avatar
      SkyBroadbandSuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      Quote Originally Posted by nobroadband View Post
      Have you asked BT Wholesale 0800 1699576 who has the line & is a there a tag on it or is it an active adsl line .If it's an active line you can get a MAC code out of Sky (contary to what they or BT Wholesale may say) I got a code for a line they claim they never conected & used it to migrate to UKFSN
      Yep, spoke to them today as I said and they didn't seem to have any idea who was on the line but the lady I spoke to didn't even know what an LLU Shift was!

      By the way what is this and what does LLU mean?

      Got my first call back from Chris, Supervisor at Sky today.

      Can't understand the problem but has passed this to the correct department and he will call me back tomorrow. This guy sounds like he knows what he is talking about and at least had the decency to call me back.

      Will try BT wholesale again tomorrow, give it 1 more day with Sky and if I don't get any further forward I'll ask for a MAC code and get back to Tiscali.

      pmcg

    5. #4
      kareemamir's Avatar
      kareemamir is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NORBURY
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      South London
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      i was with tiscali and trying to move to sky. its been 72 days!

      ohh and i have to wait another 15 days

    6. #5
      SkyBroadbandSuck's Avatar
      SkyBroadbandSuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      Quote Originally Posted by kareemamir View Post
      i was with tiscali and trying to move to sky. its been 72 days!
      72 days with no Broadband at all ? That's just ridiculous!

      No way I'm waiting that long, I'll have a new BT line in first.

      pmcg

    7. #6
      SkyBroadbandSuck's Avatar
      SkyBroadbandSuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      Anyone?

      pmcg

    8. #7
      SkyBroadbandSuck's Avatar
      SkyBroadbandSuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      Latest updated today from BT is that:

      1. The Tiscali part has been completed (whatever that means - they just cut me off and keep charging me!) and a MAC code was used.

      2. Suggested I chase it up with Sky to get them to check with the Privisions department.

      So many conflicting answers, so much waffle, confused, well I for one am.

      pmcg

    9. #8
      NickS's Avatar
      NickS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      Quote Originally Posted by SkyBroadbandSuck View Post
      Latest updated today from BT is that:

      1. The Tiscali part has been completed (whatever that means - they just cut me off and keep charging me!) and a MAC code was used.
      Tiscali keep charging me as well, or at least billing me-I cancelled the direct debit in time Got a letter yesterday telling me that my bank had refused the payment (as if I didn't know!), asking for updated bank details and saying that my service has been restricted (funny how they did that it's been disconnected for a month). Anyway I sent a letter back with a cheque for the part of the month I still had service (I know those firms hate cheques) and they can do what they want now!!

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      Quote:
      Originally Posted by SkyBroadbandSuck
      Latest updated today from BT is that:

      1. The Tiscali part has been completed (whatever that means - they just cut me off and keep charging me!) and a MAC code was used.

      Getting a MAC key does not mean giving notice. You must give your previous ISP notice that you are leaving their service. How you do this depends on their T&Cs, some require it in writing, some by email and some by their user portal.

    11. #10
      SkyBroadbandSuck's Avatar
      SkyBroadbandSuck is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: They DIDN'T use my MAC code to go from Tiscali LLU to Sky BB ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Quote:Getting a MAC key does not mean giving notice. You must give your previous ISP notice that you are leaving their service. How you do this depends on their T&Cs, some require it in writing, some by email and some by their user portal.]
      Yep, that's fine, wouldn't be a problem if Sky hadn't switched my line.
      I could still pay for Tiscali until I got connected to Sky.

      As it is though I can't use Sky or Tiscali.

      Latest update today:

      Got a call back from Sky, they emailed the correct department yesterday to fix this but......"the guy that deals with it is not in today"

      Inspires a lot of confidence, they really have "a guy" to deal with this.

      pmcg

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION