Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 30

    Available speed

    This is a discussion on Available speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, just found this forum. I was wondering, I can only get 1mb on my BT BB line, due to ...

    1. #1
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Available speed

      Hi, just found this forum.

      I was wondering, I can only get 1mb on my BT BB line, due to the distance to the nearest exchange (which is crazy as I live 10 miles from the M25 and 6 miles from the A1 !!).

      Would this have any factor in limiting the speed available on SKY BB ?


      Also, are there any issue with using XBOX360 Live on SKY BB (Mid package)? (ok, sorry, I'll search the forum!)


      Many thanks, and cool looking forum!
      Aus.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Welcome to skyuser.co.uk Austin

      Xbox as far as we understand should be fine, no ports blocked for that service.

      Are you on a max product at the moment that you know of?

      If not, then a lot of people have seen speed increases by going on max, however with your distance from the exchange would be debatable




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Are you on a max product at the moment that you know of?
      Not sure I understand, but no don't think so.

      How would I find out the available speed I can get before signing up?

      (The experience with BT was to get my signature, then tell me I was not going to get the 8mb!)

    5. #4
      EL_PRESEDENTE's Avatar
      EL_PRESEDENTE is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      have you tried http://www.samknows.com/broadband/checker2.php and see where your nearest exchange by using postcode as phone number wont display the location or distance.

      or try anything here at !!! Official Line Stats And Distance From Exchange Thread...!!!

    6. #5
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT ADSL broadband availability
      You are connected to the Welwyn Garden telephone exchange.

      ADSL is available in your area
      Your exchange is also enabled for ADSL Max services

      According to BT Wholesale, your line should be able to support a 0.5Mbps or greater ADSL connection.

      Standard ADSL RAG results:
      [BT ADSL Code: REAEGEZ] You cannot receive 2Mbps ADSL
      [BT ADSL Code: REAEGEZ] You cannot receive 1Mbps ADSL
      [BT ADSL Code: REAEGEZ] You may be able to receive 512Kbps ADSL
      (Engineer visit likely)
      [BT ADSL Code: REAEGEZ] You may be able to receive 256Kbps ADSL
      (Engineer visit likely)

      You are approximately 2.86km from the exchange (straight line distance).

      Your BT ADSL code is: REAEGEZ

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I am 3.0km from the exchange and i can get 4mb on the Max product so i would give it a go




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Hi Austin Could you post your current router stats? if you can get your attenuation you can use this: http://www.dslzoneuk.net/maxspeed2.php

      To get a rough estimate.

    9. #8
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      slightly off-topic, but how much bandwidth do services like xbox(360) live use per week/month?

    10. #9
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Here's from my BT router:

      Statistics Downstream Upstream
      Line Rate 1152 Kbps 288 Kbps
      Noise Margin 13.1 dB 27.0 dB
      Line Attenuation 62.0 dB 31.5 dB
      Output Power 16.1 dBm 11.8 dBm


      so 62dB says I can get between 2-6 Mbps (but I cannot with BT?)

    11. #10
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      No BT is using a differrent ADSL system, which gives max speeds of up to 8 megs. With Sky's LLU'd ADSL2+ the theoretical max speed is 24megs.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION