Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Available speed

    This is a discussion on Available speed within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Lol! ................

    1. #21
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Lol! .............


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You just got to
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #23
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by austinjreid View Post
      ah its all starting to make sense now, so:

      1: the switching (of my line to easynet LLU) would take place during the 'enabling' period if I signed up to skyBB?

      2: the fact my line is NOT currently on the easynet LLU means I cannot have a confirmed 'this is how fast you can get', coz its all theoretical at the mo?
      yup, so what I was getting at above was:

      its all fine and dandy getting an estimate from some third party tool, but as in my case even the BT results are not accurate then why should the sky/easynet/whatever results be accurate?

      yes, I know its a marketing tool for sky to say UPTO 16MB broadband, and the area you are in is enabled but
      can SKY tell me what speed I CAN get?

      its like paying for a colour tv licence but only being able to buy tvs which show only red and green!

    5. #24
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      If you use your attenuation figure from your current modem to predict your speed it is actually going by what you are recieving now, not a guarentee of accuracy but a far better indicator.

      If you want to try and work it out for yourself then follow this post:
      Not Connected Yet!

      My result was a higher than I actually get, but I do need a rewire.

      I currently get up to 8. Plus I had to use my attenuation figure from my actual sky connection to run through the calculation as I had cable previously. I believe this is most accurate when you use an ADSL or ADSL max attenuation.

      But if you want guarentees then I am sorry, but no one can give them to you. There are far to many contributing factors to your actual speed to know until you are up and running. Interference from, household products and external sources, the quality of wiring in your home, and the quality of BTs wiring between your master socket and the exchange.

    6. #25
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Many thanks for the explaination hugsie (and the rest) and please do not apologise.

      I thinking my internals need a rewire too as our phone line is shocking!
      (previous owner wiring!)

      Again thanks, and for the links to the cool tools!

    7. #26
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ok, just reviving my old thread.

      A few weeks ago I replaced my NTE5 with a XTE faceplate from adslnation.

      Only a small change in the SNR was noticalbe at first but I just checked my router stats now and:

      Statistics Downstream Upstream
      Line Rate 1152 Kbps 288 Kbps
      Noise Margin 15.1 dB 28.0 dB
      Line Attenuation 15.5 dB 31.5 dB
      Output Power 16.8 dBm 11.9 dBm
      K (number of bytes in DMT frame) 37 10
      R (number of check bytes in RS code word) 0 0
      S (RS code word size in DMT frame) 1 1
      D (interleaver depth) 1 1
      Super Frames 98867112 98867110
      Super Frame Errors 12590 872
      RS Words 0 0
      RS Correctable Errors 0 0
      RS Uncorrectable Errors 0 0
      HEC Errors 7851 0
      OCD Errors 124 2
      LCD Errors 0 2
      ES Errors 0 0

      My old stats from page one were:
      Statistics Downstream Upstream
      Line Rate 1152 Kbps 288 Kbps
      Noise Margin 13.1 dB 27.0 dB
      Line Attenuation 62.0 dB 31.5 dB
      Output Power 16.1 dBm 11.8 dBm

      Any ideas what has happened to my line attenuation? No, I did not move the house!

    8. #27
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      hmm that is strange and i would have no idea as to why it has done that, you say you have'nt moved the house but have they moved the exchange lol
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #28
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      even just rebooted the rooter, after 30 mins the stats are:

      Statistics Downstream Upstream
      Line Rate 1152 Kbps 288 Kbps
      Noise Margin 21.7 dB 28.0 dB
      Line Attenuation 15.5 dB 31.5 dB
      Output Power 17.2 dBm 11.9 dBm

    10. #29
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Try a reset rather than a reboot.

    11. #30
      austinjreid's Avatar
      austinjreid is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMGRTFO
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      damn ok, I reset (using the gui) and line att is back to 61 now

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION