Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    McAfee

    This is a discussion on McAfee within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey I've put off installing this as i currently use AVG and Zone alarm and have had no problems with ...

    1. #1
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      McAfee

      Hey

      I've put off installing this as i currently use AVG and Zone alarm and have had no problems with them.

      But as McAfee is a freebie I'm considering trying it, but is it a resource hog? I play allot of CS:source and need advice to whether i should stick with what I've got, as the saying goes: "don't fix what isn't broke"??

      TIA


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: McAfee

      dont use it caused my pc no end of problems

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: McAfee

      "don't fix what isn't broke"
      You've said it If you are happy with what you have got and it's free, why install a resource hog that you will have to pay for when the 'free' period is up

    5. #4
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee

      AVG and Zone alarm are much better than McAfee. I paid a years subscription to McAfee only to uninstall it after 4 or 5 months. I had a trojan on my computer called Virtumundo B, McAfee did absolutely nothing to protect me where AVG quarrantined it.

    6. #5
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee

      Gaz your sig sums up sky perfectly.

    7. #6
      Gaztops's Avatar
      Gaztops is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Wanadoo/Orange
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      350
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: McAfee

      Yes, I have also had a run in with Sky, but I had problems with the TV and not the broadband.

      No more problems now though.....I cancelled it

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION