Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

    This is a discussion on ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Noticed last night that every couple of minutes my connection would just go dead, all sites just display "page cannot ...

    1. #1
      Adam86's Avatar
      Adam86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoke-on-Trent
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      Noticed last night that every couple of minutes my connection would just go dead, all sites just display "page cannot be displayed"
      So i shut down ZoneAlarm Pro firewall, and the connection then works, all sites/email etc are accessible.
      So its zone alarm causing the problem, i guess not allowing my pc's ip outgoing to the router?

      In the LAN properties i have it set to "Obtain IP address automatically"
      is that what it should be set on?
      Or a fixed IP address(that i could set to Trusted in Zone Alarm?)

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Jas's Avatar
      Jas
      Jas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hayes
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      It should usually be on obtain automatically..

    4. #3
      Adam86's Avatar
      Adam86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoke-on-Trent
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      If obtaining automatically, is that why zone alarm keeps blocking it? As the outgoing IP keeps changing?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      I don't use ZA and so cannot really help, have a look in the allowed programs and make sure Internet Explorer has a tick in it.

      Your PC should have the same ip all the time normally 192.168.0.2 and the router should be 192.168.0.1




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Adam86's Avatar
      Adam86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoke-on-Trent
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      Is it safe not to use ZA at all?
      And rely on the router firewall, and the Xp firewall(which is pretty useless imo)

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      The Sky router will not allow anything inwards unless you make a rule to do so.

      The only advantage really of ZA or any other firewall, is that it will alert you to anything trying to leave your machine. (which is a good thing) Try uninstalling / reinstalling Zone Alarm or delete all the rules in it so it then picks them back up.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Adam86's Avatar
      Adam86 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stoke-on-Trent
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      Re-installed ZA, seems to have picked up the LAN connection and ive set it to trusted.
      Everything seems to be working ok atm, the connection does seem slightly slower with ZA on tho, sites take a bit longer load. Might get better when ive set the rules for each program.

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      Great news




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    10. #9
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      I use ZA and have added 192.168.0.1, the router address to the trusted zone and it shouldn't gibe you any problems.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: ZoneAlarm causing connection to drop

      I am not 100% sure but if you make your router a 'Trusted Zone' does that not open your PC up to anything that connects to the router? You are then depending on the router settings to stop an attack, so ZA would be useless for incoming and would only be effective against outgoing traffic. I still use Sygate PF and have not had to make any such exceptions.

      It may be in your interest to go HERE and test your firewall. Remember to turn off your Windows wall to ensure that ZA is being checked.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION