Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Sky accessing computer

    This is a discussion on Sky accessing computer within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Norton internet security has notified me that ip address 90.192.92.56 is trying to access my computer on a regular basis ...

    1. #1
      Derek25's Avatar
      Derek25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Four Oaks
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky accessing computer

      Norton internet security has notified me that ip address 90.192.92.56 is trying to access my computer on a regular basis and has blocked it. I have checked the ip and it is BSkyB Easynet ltd. Why should Sky try to access my computer on a regular basis and should I continue to block it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      yodasarmpit's Avatar
      yodasarmpit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      West Lothian, Scotland
      Posts
      196
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky accessing computer

      Yes Sky are haX0ring your computer to steal all your details.


      Have you installer Sky Anytime, it's a peer to peer service and may be the source.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky accessing computer

      It could be a couple of things:

      1) Sky customer who has a virus on there pc and is effectively scanning open ports etc, however chances are with the firewall etc on the router it won't be an issue

      2) Sky DNS server (which I doubt)

      3) P2P application

      Chances of anything getting through unless you let it are fairly slim, I would not worry to much.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      Jas's Avatar
      Jas
      Jas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hayes
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky accessing computer

      This always used to happen to me on my previous ISP, just allow it all the time, as NewsreadeR said its not much to worry about

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky accessing computer

      Quote Originally Posted by Jas View Post
      allow it all the time
      That wouldn't be my recommendation. Personally I'd only allow a connection from a source I was expecting and had good cause.

    7. #6
      Jas's Avatar
      Jas
      Jas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hayes
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky accessing computer

      Oops however he will be getting security alerts all the time

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky accessing computer

      Will he? I don't use Norton but I'd have thought once you've blocked something you could tell it whether to continue to alert you if a connection was attempted.

      In any case, the router will block any inbound by default so whatever this IP was, to be able to get past the router firewall the connection must have been "invited" - probably as suggested before, a P2P connection.

    9. #8
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Sky accessing computer

      Quote Originally Posted by Derek25 View Post
      Norton internet security has notified me that ip address 90.192.92.56 is trying to access my computer
      Probably a stupid question but is that not your own address ?

    10. #9
      Derek25's Avatar
      Derek25 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Four Oaks
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky accessing computer

      No I have checked and it is not my own ip address. I did install Sky Anytime but removed it as I was unable to get it to work.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Sky accessing computer

      I would think there is a bit of Anytime left floating around your PC and it is actually sending a message out looking for updates etc. Do a Search for 'Anytime' and it will probably find some bits and pieces. You could also use the Find function in the Registry editor to clean out the remains. If you have an outgoing traffic log in your firewall, you may find the outgoing request there. The router firewall must be seeing it as legitimate, ie, something requested from your PC, or it would not allow it through.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION