Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Liars

    This is a discussion on Liars within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok, short story. Moved house, needed new ISP, already had Sky TV, opted for the Max service just because no ...

    1. #1
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Liars

      Ok, short story.

      Moved house, needed new ISP, already had Sky TV, opted for the Max service just because no set-up costs involved and mainly because the guy i spoke to when ordering told me i would get a speed of 8mb.

      Wireless is a bag of shizzle, 2 adapters and still no go, so i buy a longer Cat5 cable which is running up my staircase and i'm still only getting 2mb speeds.

      Whats this country coming to?

      Btw, is it possible to cancel this bag of poo, or am i stuck for 12 months now?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      12months but post ur stats and im sure every 1 will help in getting thoose speeds up

    4. #3
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      What stats do you want?

      I'm 32-24-32

      Only kidding..

      Link to speed test: thinkbroadband :: Broadband Speed Test

      Stats from the router:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3008 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 12.0 db

      Anything else?

    5. #4
      Zico's Avatar
      Zico is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canterbury (NDCAN)
      Broadband ISP: VFast.co.uk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Liars

      Quote Originally Posted by rickinyorkshire View Post
      What stats do you want?

      I'm 32-24-32

      Only kidding..

      Link to speed test: thinkbroadband :: Broadband Speed Test

      Stats from the router:
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3008 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 60.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.1 db 12.0 db

      Anything else?

      You are on a long line I'm afraid. You're getting pretty much the maximum download speed for your line.

      I'm with BT Broadband at the moment on a fixed 1mb line. My Speedtouch 780wl router reports:

      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]: 31.5 / 61.0
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]: 20.0 / 14.5

      The maximum possible sync speed of my line reported by my Speedtouch 780wl is 3520 kbps.

      **Edit** If Sky definately told you your line can handle 8mb then they were lieing. If they told you the service was "upto 8mb" then they were not lieing but they were neglecting to mention that your line is very long and that you wouldn't get close to 8mb.

      If your on the MAX package then you are paying 10 for an "upto 16mb" service. You may want to get in touch and ask to be put down to the MID package at 5 for an "upto 8mb" service (although it has a allowance of 40gb).
      Last edited by Zico; 18-03-07 at 03:11 AM.

    6. #5
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      Downgrades are not possible. I also assume you have checked the most logical points. eg master socket, test socket, filters. As your atten and noise margin are not fantastic I would say 3mb is about right for your line. unless your in a extension. And as always it's an upto service, so thats anywhere from 128k to 16mb

    7. #6
      yodasarmpit's Avatar
      yodasarmpit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      West Lothian, Scotland
      Posts
      196
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      Don't you just love it when people have a crappy BT line they blame it on Sky.

      Do as the others have suggested and try connecting directly to the test socket, you may find that the high line noise is caused by internal wiring, if so then that's something you can work to resolve yourself.
      If that does nothing then I'm afraid that the cable from you to the exchange is too long.

    8. #7
      Jas's Avatar
      Jas
      Jas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hayes
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      go here to extract your full stats: Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4

      go to get detailed stats then download the netgear.cfg file and open it in notepad and copy n paste the stats here.
      Last edited by Jas; 18-03-07 at 04:28 PM.

    9. #8
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      This what you wanted?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 3776 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.6 12.0
      Attn(dB): 60.0 31.5
      Pwr(dBm): 18.9 12.5
      Max(Kbps): 4224 1024
      Rate (Kbps): 3776 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 119(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 2 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 119 25
      M: 2 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 2.1333 8.6153
      L: 960 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1480168 1480166
      SFErr: 10337 250
      RS: 50325722 12581411
      RSCorr: 13546893 1202
      RSUnCorr: 339749 0

      HEC: 10346 202
      OCD: 4 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 223613484 0
      Data Cells: 1246120 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 289 0
      SES: 253 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 6 hours 59 min 56 sec
      SF = 1480168
      CRC = 10337
      LOS = 130
      LOF = 0
      ES = 289
      Latest 1 day time = 6 hours 59 min 56 sec
      SF = 1480168
      CRC = 10337
      LOS = 130
      LOF = 0
      ES = 289
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 56 sec
      SF = 52754
      CRC = 912
      LOS = 13
      LOF = 0
      ES = 28
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 805
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 22
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 12
      LOS = 9
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52872
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    10. #9
      Jas's Avatar
      Jas
      Jas is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hayes
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      It seems you have alot of errors on your line

    11. #10
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      On my BT line or my Sky line?

      How would i go about getting it fixed?


     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION