Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 21

    Liars

    This is a discussion on Liars within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by rickinyorkshire Btw, is it possible to cancel this bag of poo, or am i stuck for 12 ...

    1. #11
      bristewart's Avatar
      bristewart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      Quote Originally Posted by rickinyorkshire View Post
      Btw, is it possible to cancel this bag of poo, or am i stuck for 12 months now?

      You are allowed to cancel within 8 working days from activation or router delivery, whichever is the later. This is known as the "cooling off" period.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Liars

      Quote Originally Posted by rickinyorkshire View Post
      On my BT line or my Sky line?

      How would i go about getting it fixed?

      Hi

      Have you tried the test socket?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-master.html

      Try your router in that and then post your revised stats




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #13
      Zico's Avatar
      Zico is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canterbury (NDCAN)
      Broadband ISP: VFast.co.uk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Liars

      Also put your phone number in this checker and it will tell you how far in a straight line you are from your exchange. It will also give you an estimate of what speed your line may get (BT Wholesale wise and not LLU).

      The Broadband Resource

    5. #14
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      1.9km from my exchange, will do the test socket tommorow.

    6. #15
      Zico's Avatar
      Zico is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Canterbury (NDCAN)
      Broadband ISP: VFast.co.uk
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Liars

      Quote Originally Posted by rickinyorkshire View Post
      1.9km from my exchange, will do the test socket tommorow.
      Remember, that figure is the straight line distance from you to the exchange and not the actual line distance. Your line may take the long way round to your house.

      What did the checker say for your BT MAX potential speed??

    7. #16
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      Max speed it said is 3.5mb

      Thats the end of that then i suppose.


    8. #17
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Liars

      You can't do anything about the attenuation (it's related to line length), but you can at least try & reduce the noise & errors.

      Have a read of:

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...explained.html

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabling-faceplate-help/

      DSL ZoneUK - Improve your speed - Extension wiring and Disconnection help

    9. #18
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      Well tonight my noise margin dropped below 4, even into the 2's, making me lose my connection every 10 mins or so, making online gaming pretty awful.

      This cannot continue.

    10. #19
      yodasarmpit's Avatar
      yodasarmpit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      West Lothian, Scotland
      Posts
      196
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      With that line attenuation, and more worryingly the noise margin, you will never get a great service no matter who the ISP is.

      Have you tested your connection in the test socket as advised, the issue may lie with your internal wiring. At least if it is that is something you can help resolve.

      If the internal wiring is not the fault then the best you can hope for is 1 - 2meg or move over to cable if they are in your area.

    11. #20
      rickinyorkshire's Avatar
      rickinyorkshire is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Liars

      It does go into the 7's most of the time, it's just the evenings where it drops, i moved from a 2nd floor flat to the bottom floor, and i never had any problems in the previous address with ISP's (apart from Tiscali, but thats another story altogether). I presume both properties are linked to the same BT line.

      I'll have to do the test socket thing tonight when it drops again..


     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION