Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    very very slow!!

    This is a discussion on very very slow!! within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, after months of waiting and sky telling me there was a problem with my exchange i have finaly been ...

    1. #1
      Monkey's Avatar
      Monkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Paisley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      very very slow!!

      Hi, after months of waiting and sky telling me there was a problem with my exchange i have finaly been able to connect to sky broadband today. However my connection is only 128kbps. I have phoned sky and they were as helpfull as ever. i have to wait for there T3 team to call, they never do.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: very very slow!!

      Hello, try reading this and then posting your stats if you need to, this should show if your line has been capped or has obvious errors on it.

      PLEASE READ FIRST: How to obtain and post router stats
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    4. #3
      Monkey's Avatar
      Monkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Paisley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: very very slow!!

      i dont know if this helps, i have tried my modem in the master socket and get the same results. Dont know if these are the stats that people can look at to help me?


      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 2644 2773 0 256 499 01:07:25
      LAN 10M/100M 8036 6556 0 902 343 01:28:38
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 128 kbps 128 kbps
      Line Attenuation 37.0 db 23.5 db
      Noise Margin 33.0 db 13.0 db

    5. #4
      Monkey's Avatar
      Monkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Paisley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: very very slow!!

      i also managed to get this...dont know what it means of if its useful?


      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 128 Kbps, Downstream rate = 128 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 33.0 13.0
      Attn(dB): 37.0 23.5
      Pwr(dBm): 9.7 0.2
      Max(Kbps): 9408 1280
      Rate (Kbps): 128 128
      G.dmt framing
      K: 5(0) 5
      R: 16 16
      S: 8 16
      D: 16 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 5 5
      M: 8 16
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 10.6666 18.6666
      L: 48 48
      D: 16 4
      Counters
      SF: 234244 234242
      SFErr: 0 0
      RS: 1991078 995528
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 0 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 1202321 0
      Data Cells: 644188 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 0 0
      SES: 0 0
      UAS: 20 0
      Total time = 1 hours 6 min 49 sec
      SF = 234244
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 1 day time = 1 hours 6 min 49 sec
      SF = 234244
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 49 sec
      SF = 24054
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 51340
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0

    6. #5
      Monkey's Avatar
      Monkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Paisley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: very very slow!!

      problem solved, a phone to skys T3 team and i have hot a 6mb connection now. thanks tho

    7. #6
      trigger39's Avatar
      trigger39 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: very very slow!!

      Quote Originally Posted by Monkey View Post
      problem solved, a phone to skys T3 team and i have hot a 6mb connection now. thanks tho

      So what was the problem in the end?

    8. #7
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: very very slow!!

      Don't know if it's true, or not, but I have heard that sky wll sometimes cap a connection, up and down, to 128kbps while they do tests on the line.

      Sometimes it appears they forget to remove it
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION