Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 39

    Connect for 5??

    This is a discussion on Connect for 5?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, I got an email from sky this morning offering me Sky Connect for 5. Is that right?...

    1. #1
      leaskovski's Avatar
      leaskovski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Connect for 5??

      Hi Guys,

      I got an email from sky this morning offering me Sky Connect for 5.

      Is that right?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Sky are offering customers Connect at 5.00 if your exchange is due to be upgarded to LLU within 6 months, at 5.00 it has to be worth a try.

      Be prepared though, it may go perfect or you could have some hassle, but bear with it - its great when you get it

      Good luck!




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      leaskovski's Avatar
      leaskovski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Ohh, very good. I might try it. One question though is i know that you get racked into another 12 month contract with sky TV, but at the moment i only have a normal sky digital box, i was thinking of getting a sky + box. If they put me into a new 12 month contract, will that stop me from getting them to stick a sky + box in?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Connect for 5??

      No - but you will have to pay the going price for Sky+ which is 99.00 plus installation depending on what package you go on.

      Sky.com - Products and Services>Equipment>Sky+




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      sc0tsman's Avatar
      sc0tsman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: livingston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      166
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Sky are offering customers Connect at 5.00 if your exchange is due to be upgarded to LLU within 6 months, at 5.00 it has to be worth a try.

      Be prepared though, it may go perfect or you could have some hassle, but bear with it - its great when you get it

      Good luck!
      It was a 6 month offer when introduced in January m8 but the 5 offer applies to any exchange scheduled for an upgrade before the end of June.

      Whether they extend the offer beyond June upgrades remains to be seen.

    7. #6
      leaskovski's Avatar
      leaskovski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Well i have asked for my MAC key from plusnet. So i am going to go ahead with this.

      Question, when phoning sky to join and give them the mac key, can you specify a date of when you want it to happen?

    8. #7
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Quote Originally Posted by leaskovski View Post
      Well i have asked for my MAC key from plusnet. So i am going to go ahead with this.

      Question, when phoning sky to join and give them the mac key, can you specify a date of when you want it to happen?
      Dont think so but its usually within a couple of weeks.

    9. #8
      leaskovski's Avatar
      leaskovski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      Dont think so but its usually within a couple of weeks.

      Okay, well i will phone sky up with the key at the end of next week then.

      Will plusnet know when the migration has taken place or will i have to contact them?

    10. #9
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Quote Originally Posted by leaskovski View Post
      Okay, well i will phone sky up with the key at the end of next week then.

      Will plusnet know when the migration has taken place or will i have to contact them?
      Once Sky is up and running I would deffo give plusnet a ring to make sure they know you've left, I had a bill from BT 3 months after leaving them, for broadband I hadn't been recieving ending up having a right barny with them over it!

    11. #10
      Ricin's Avatar
      Ricin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Hi I left from PlusNet and joined Sky for 5 per month. Was one of the best choices I have made in years.

      The way I did it was request MAC Key from PlusNet via there Ticket System. They then try to make you stay probably offer a couple of months free access.

      After you say no give me the key please. They at there lesiure will send you the key. In my case took 4 working days I think it was from memory. They by law have to had it over in 5 working days max.

      Once I got the MAC Code. I rang Sky gave them the MAC Code over the phone. Was about 12 days until I lost connection to PlusNet as I was switched to Sky. But had no word from Sky that they had changed me over.

      At this point never had a Sky Router so had no broadband. Once I got the Router plugged in and Sky connected about 1/2 meg faster than my old PlusNet account did. Plus the connection for surfing etc downloading is miles bettter than PlusNet was.

      After I had Sky up and running via broadband. I updated the ticket with PlusNet to say. Please close all accounts and direct debits I have with you. Also please reply here and confirm your cancellation of service.

      Which took them about 2 days but they did it. About a day later I lost connection to PlusNets log on in there web site.

      Hope that helps. Sky is well was in my case a great move. It was a hassle to set up but a lot better than PlusNet currently are. Sky is like PlusNet used to be when they where good

      Hope all goes well with your install

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION