Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 39

    Connect for 5??

    This is a discussion on Connect for 5?? within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Before the six months is up you should have been transfered over as you exchange would been upgraded to LLU ...

    1. #21
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Before the six months is up you should have been transfered over as you exchange would been upgraded to LLU so you can recieve the Mid and Max packages.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      jaye944's Avatar
      jaye944 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      SORRY for being a bit thick,

      would I still pay 5, more than 5, or less. for the 6 months/12 months

      initially I wanted the base one, 40 set up, then 0 month / 12 months

      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      Before the six months is up you should have been transfered over as you exchange would been upgraded to LLU so you can recieve the Mid and Max packages.

    4. #23
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Sorry for delay - just reading back thru some posts and noticed your query " who said it was" unless i've misinterpreted you, you did

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      My speed is no better with Sky than it was with Plusnet, but I think that is down to the router being inferior to my previous one. If you had a USB connection you will see a big improvement.


    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      @dholdi

      I'm sorry, but you appear to be misinterpreting my comment. The poster was moving from Plusnet, many of their users have USB modems, if he was one, he will see an improvement using a router. I thought this was quite clear in my post.

    6. #25
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Quote Originally Posted by jaye944 View Post
      would I still pay 5, more than 5, or less. for the 6 months/12 months

      initially I wanted the base one, 40 set up, then 0 month / 12 months
      After the six months and IF your exchange has been upgraded then you will be able to get the Base product for 0, but remember this will only happen when you exchange is unbundled and then Sky do the move for you.

    7. #26
      leaskovski's Avatar
      leaskovski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Right question. I have got an email from PlusNet on Friday saying that my account has now switched to a dial up pay as you go. Good. However, i am still on their bb network. I tried looking at the BT site to see whats happening about my line but it says nothing about an order to switch me to sky.

      Is this right?

      Lol! Just as i typed that, i got a text message to my home phone number from sky saying that my connection is live! Funny that i am still being routed via the plusnet network. If i disconnect now i take it i won't be able to reconnect until my sky box turns up?
      Last edited by leaskovski; 30-04-07 at 07:08 PM.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,132
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Don't take messages from Sky at face value! When Plusnet cut you off, a few minutes later, in theory, you will be connected to Sky. As you are on Connect, the router will not be sent out untill they have confirmation from BT that you have been connected. You will then be without broadband for 2 to 5 days until your Sky router arrives. This is how it has happened in the past, but who knows, maybe they will start sending out the routers earlier so that it is ready when the change over happens.

    9. #28
      leaskovski's Avatar
      leaskovski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Right, i have just checked my bt orders again and looked at the details of the single entry that was in the list and it had the following in the details...

      PROVIDE LLU LINE SHARE PSTN 1 0.0 0.0
      CEASE BT IPSTREAM MAX 1 0.0 0.0

      Does this mean the Plusnet had stuck me on LLU!? The bunch of ****! I had specifically told them not to do that. Is this going to have any effect on my order?

    10. #29
      leaskovski's Avatar
      leaskovski is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Opps, my bad. Apparently this is normal now...

      thinkbroadband :: Changes to ADSL provision in the UK

      Anyway, how long does it take for the Sky order to show on there? Im getting worried now as there is nothing on there and PlusNet have sent me a 'your account has now closed' and Sky have sent me a 'Welcome to our network' yet i am still connected to PlusNet?

      Surely if they had switched me my connection would have dropped yes?

    11. #30
      jaye944's Avatar
      jaye944 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01753
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Connect for 5??

      Thanks, I understand now



      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      After the six months and IF your exchange has been upgraded then you will be able to get the Base product for 0, but remember this will only happen when you exchange is unbundled and then Sky do the move for you.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION