Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

    This is a discussion on Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots within the Sky Broadband help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, I am on the Sky Max package and recently (in the past 3 weeks or so) I have been ...

    1. #1
      rohanale's Avatar
      rohanale is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      Hi,

      I am on the Sky Max package and recently (in the past 3 weeks or so) I have been having a serious drop in speed. Every evening I come home I have to reboot my router in order to get a decent speed. I tend to find that my downstream speed has dropped to about 500kps.

      I am concerned anyway because my speed is very low in the first place and was wondering if there was a way to know if my speed has been capped.

      The highest downstream speed I have ever had is 3008kps and I'm not sure if this is correct. I am connected to an extension in the house and I guess this might have some bearing. When I first got my Sky Broadband connected I connected my router to the master socket and get the same stats. I haven't tried it recently though and will try that tonight and post the results here.

      Here are my current router stats :

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 3008 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 13.8 db 13.0 db

      Anyone got any ideas?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      kevlong's Avatar
      kevlong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      76
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      Start by turning off uPnP in the router as many people have solved problems by doing this. The other thing to consider is to retrain the router late at night when attentuation and noise margin are generally poorer. This will give the router the ability to hold on to the signal better.

      Search the forums for details on how to do the above.

      Kevlong

    4. #3
      rohanale's Avatar
      rohanale is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      Thanks.

      uPNP is already off.

      I will try do the router retraining you suggest.

      rohanale

    5. #4
      lee2007's Avatar
      lee2007 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      northumberland
      Posts
      189
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      newsreader will give you some more help, but as your attenuation is 50db, you cant exactly be close to the exchange, i have a feeling you wont get much more download speed then you are geting, but i could be wrong.

    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      I have had similar problems, my speed was good but keeped dropping even to the point the the router disconnected, After month's of fiddling around trying different routers etc, I ran this Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 and downloaded the detailed router stats, turns out my line was generating thousands of CRC errors 300000 over a day and a half, plugging into the master socket didn't help but last night I disconnected the bell wire in all my extension sockets leaving just 2 wires connected, cant remember which pin it was connected too but if you search in this forum the info is there somewhere. Well my noise margin shot up immediately, I have only generated 300 errors in the last 24 hours and connection is fast and constant!
      BTW the bell wire is not used on modern telephones.

    7. #6
      bristewart's Avatar
      bristewart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      The bell wire is connected to terminal 3, and the wire is usually orange in colour (well it is in my house anyway).

      Mine is currently still connected and my broadband connection works fine. However, I have an ADSL splitter faceplate, so perhaps the bell wire no longer has any effect to the extension upstairs?

      SNR is 8.9dB, but I'm getting even more CRCs than you: 1678208 over a period of 1.5 days!!

      Anyway, I think I'll disconnect all the bell wires in my house tonight and see if this reduces the CRC errors, and improves the SNR further. I might also try comparing with the master test socket behind the faceplate too.

    8. #7
      Jim2708's Avatar
      Jim2708 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glossop
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      Quote Originally Posted by bristewart View Post
      The bell wire is connected to terminal 3, and the wire is usually orange in colour (well it is in my house anyway).

      Mine is currently still connected and my broadband connection works fine. However, I have an ADSL splitter faceplate, so perhaps the bell wire no longer has any effect to the extension upstairs?

      SNR is 8.9dB, but I'm getting even more CRCs than you: 1678208 over a period of 1.5 days!!

      Anyway, I think I'll disconnect all the bell wires in my house tonight and see if this reduces the CRC errors, and improves the SNR further. I might also try comparing with the master test socket behind the faceplate too.
      Let me know how you go on, my CRC for the last 13 hours is 4980, but I don't know if that's bad or not.

      Even stranger is that I'm still connected even though my SNR is way below 6.0 current stats are:

      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 5.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 47.0 29.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 8320 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 7616 768

      It's gone up slightly, SNR was 5.3db when I started typing this but it hasn't gone past 5.7 in the last hour.

      Cheers,


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed: 7296 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation: 47.0 db 29.0 db
      Noise Margin: 7.4 db 12.0 db


    9. #8
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      Quote Originally Posted by Jim2708 View Post
      Let me know how you go on, my CRC for the last 13 hours is 4980, but I don't know if that's bad or not.

      Even stranger is that I'm still connected even though my SNR is way below 6.0 current stats are:

      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 5.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 47.0 29.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 8320 1056
      Rate (Kbps): 7616 768

      It's gone up slightly, SNR was 5.3db when I started typing this but it hasn't gone past 5.7 in the last hour.

      Cheers,
      Errors seem high to me and more SNR is low, I believe if it drops below 5 your router is likely to hang or disconnect!

    10. #9
      deskmonkey's Avatar
      deskmonkey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bishop Auckland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      87
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      Errors seem high to me and more SNR is low, I believe if it drops below 5 your router is likely to hang or disconnect!
      Mine always drifts under 5, gets to about 3.9 then disconnects. Is there an option anywhere to alter the default?

    11. #10
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,894
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 30 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Very Low Speeds and Router Reboots

      Quote Originally Posted by deskmonkey View Post
      Mine always drifts under 5, gets to about 3.9 then disconnects. Is there an option anywhere to alter the default?
      Yes you can use this Sky Netgear DG834GT utility version 0.4 to pin the noise ratio to a certain level, but it may reduce your speed. Change can be cleared by reseting router. I would check wiring etc first.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION