Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Asus DSL-AC88U

    This is a discussion on Asus DSL-AC88U within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Looking for help configuring Asus DSL-AC88U router please. Spent hours going through post and google results trying different things ...

    1. #1
      baldie87's Avatar
      baldie87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DLS-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2020
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Asus DSL-AC88U

      Hi,

      Looking for help configuring Asus DSL-AC88U router please. Spent hours going through post and google results trying different things with not much luck in moving forward.


      • I believe we are on Sky Fiber unlimited, Sky router is SR102
      • Ripped the Sky user name and password using the wire shark method (Confident i have the right details as ripped from different DHCP packets and user name and password consistent / match up)
      • Tested with new cables and existing ones, router plugged from Asus DSL socket into micro filter, then into the wall (cables and sockets appear fine as using the same setup, sky router connects fine to the internet)
      • Asus router, upgraded to the latest firmware (https://www.asus.com/uk/Networking/D...HelpDesk_BIOS/ - Version 1.10.06_Build591) - Loaded fine
      • Ran through, reboots, reset and hard resets
      • Navigated to the web console > Quick internet setup > Check connection > United Kingdom > Sky Fiber > input user name and password > Then i get the following error > "Detecting the Internet connection type timed out. Do you want to try again ?"
      • Cant establish connection
      • DSL Exchange under internet settings appears active (59960 kbps down - 15230 kbps up) - No internet connection
      • Under WAN index, VDSL is the only one showing as active, i have tried to manually configure this, internet shows as ticked, no internet connection
      • Line status is showing as active under DSL


      Am i missing something, how can i get the quick connection to auto configure everything?
      Could anyone share their settings with the same router?
      Should i be using different firmware, ideally would like to stick to manufacture and not merlin
      Help will be greatly appreciated!

      Many thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      746
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U

      Router wont support merlin anyway as it's the dsl version.
      I'm sure it's been mentioned here before somewhere. Issues though with wan link going down for
      some reason. Trying to find posts...

      What options have you got for the wan side config?
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    4. #3
      baldie87's Avatar
      baldie87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DLS-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2020
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U

      Thank you for coming back to me.

      Asus DSL-AC88U-wan-settings.jpg

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      746
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U

      Not PPOE. Have you got ip or automatic ip from the drop down list?
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    6. #5
      baldie87's Avatar
      baldie87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DLS-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2020
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U

      I do, when i select it i loose the authentication bitAsus DSL-AC88U-auto-ip.jpg

    7. #6
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      746
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U

      Yup. Cant see option 61 box which you need under automatic IP.
      Perhaps check other firmwares from Asus?? in case it's been added on a different version?

      Might be worth a read Asus dsl-ac88u


      I would also try the config in this post for the DSL-ac68u as it may be the same on the 88u...Here's how:- Asus DSL-ac68u working with Sky fibre
      Last edited by skyeci; 08-02-20 at 06:07 PM.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    8. #7
      baldie87's Avatar
      baldie87 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ASUS DLS-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2020
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Lightbulb Re: Asus DSL-AC88U

      Hi,

      Thought I would feedback for others who are looking for a solution. Configured the router with the below steps, it is working, internet connection has been stable for a week now;





      • WAN settings

      o Automatic IP
      o Enable WAN
      o 802.1q enable
      o VLAN 101
      o DNS auto
      o Mac address, placed the broadband mac from the sky router console


      • DSL settings

      o Annex A


      • Quick internet setup, select provider as Sky placing username and password when prompted > follow menu until the end
      • Wait up to 60 seconds and you should be connected


      No prompt or need to configure option 61.

      Thanks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION