Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By moleman

    port forwarding

    This is a discussion on port forwarding within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Can anyone advise me how to do this on my sky fibre router please? "Forward a random TCP port (eg ...

    1. #1
      vix2000's Avatar
      vix2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      port forwarding

      Can anyone advise me how to do this on my sky fibre router please? "Forward a random TCP port (eg 51111) to port 49160 on this IP address." I've googled and get these instructions
      Open a new web browser window and delete the contents of the address bar.
      Type 192.168.0.1 into the address bar and press Enter. You'll see the Sky Hub Menu.
      Click the Advanced tab and enter the username and password.


      Default username: admin
      Default password: sky or, your WIFI password.
      If these have been changed, enter the current username and password.


      Click LAN IP Setup then Add under Address reservation.
      Choose the device the traffic should be forwarded to by clicking the appropriate radio button and take note of the IP it's assigned. This is a list of everything currently connected to the Hub. Switching off devices you don't want to set up port forwarding on will make the list smaller, helping you find devices by their Device Name.
      Click Add. The router may request a restart. Click OK and allow the reset to complete before continuing.
      Log back into the Hub if you need to. Go to Security, then click Services and Add Service.


      If you have more than one port number / range (PS4 usually uses 4 numbers / ranges), repeat steps 8-11 for each making sure:



      The problem is that port 49160 is on the router itself and doesn't show in the device list, and the device list only shows IP addresses. Any help would be appreciated.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      moleman's Avatar
      moleman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hadleigh EAHAE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      848
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 36 Times in 34 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      If you can't identify the IP address from the device list, you will need to get it from the device itself.
      How you do that very much depends on what the device is. Once again let Google be your guide.
      Scubbie likes this.

    4. #3
      delboydell's Avatar
      delboydell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2020
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      Hello I am also trying to do the alexa skill, did you have any look,
      I thought I knew about port forwarding as I have managed to do it for my alarm and slingbox, but its the bit 51111 "to 49160" that gets me normally the port range is say 10001 to 10001 and that goes to the device with a static IP on your internal network, I have never seen it wrote like that. And if you put 51111 in the 1st field the next number has to be the same not lower?

    5. #4
      stephen2203's Avatar
      stephen2203 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ballymena
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      Also drawn a blank with this exact issue. Any help would be appreciated

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,125
      Thanks
      833
      Thanked 2,218 Times in 2,087 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      As @Moleman has correctly stated, the Sky Hub (and all the other Sky routers) don't support this feature.

      The only way to do it would be to use a different router to run your network. Most non-ISP routers do support the feature you want. I know for sure that Netgear routers do and most others as well.

      It can be annoying when, for example, you have two or more items wanting to use the same port. The only way around this is to change the port/s used on the device/s.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION