Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Asus dsl-ac88u

    This is a discussion on Asus dsl-ac88u within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; All, I've recently purchased the above modem router and for the life of me, I can't get it set up ...

    1. #1
      ReeceD's Avatar
      ReeceD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2019
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Asus dsl-ac88u

      All,

      I've recently purchased the above modem router and for the life of me, I can't get it set up correctly to communicate with the Sky.

      I've tried setting the connection by both the quick internet set up and manual settings, both of which failed. The QIS fails when trying to connect the internet type (pic attached). I've also attached a picture of the manual settings. I obtained my username and password by wireshark.

      Can anyone point me in the right direction?

      Thanks for all your help.
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Asus dsl-ac88u-img_9524.jpg   Asus dsl-ac88u-img_5513.jpg  


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ReeceD's Avatar
      ReeceD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2019
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus dsl-ac88u

      So an update on the above. I managed to get the router up and running with a good connection. The issue I have now is the router drops it’s wan connectiom everyday around the same time. To rectify the issue, I have to set up the sky hub box let all the green lights appear, then plug the dsl lead back into the asus router to enable it to get a connection again.

      Any thoughts on what it could be? Is there something I need to change within the routers settings?

    4. #3
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,801
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 140 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Asus dsl-ac88u

      Sad to say but the DSL-AC68 is a bit unstable regarding the vdsl side of things. I had one myself for a short period when they first launched, think I took it back to PC World after three days. It was causing massive issues with the DLM intervening and reducing my sync speed.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    5. #4
      ReeceD's Avatar
      ReeceD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2019
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus dsl-ac88u

      I’m on the verge of taking it back as I can’t be plugging all my sky equipment back in every night.

      Can you recomment any modem/routers which have no issues? Preferably an all in one unit.

    6. #5
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      649
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts

      Re: Asus dsl-ac88u

      With sky the best bet is separate equipment it seems especially due to the option 61 requirements for sky wan side config. A number of all in one's just don't support it. Asus routers are popular due to the ability to run merlin which makes it very easy to configure for sky's option 61 when sat behind a vdsl modem which there are a number available provided the device works in bridge mode.

      Merlin comparability list

      Asuswrt-Merlin officially supports the following router models:

      • RT-AC66U_B1 (same firmware as the RT-AC68U)
      • RT-AC68U (including revisions C1 and E1)
      • RT-AC68P (same firmware as RT-AC68U)
      • RT-AC68UF (same firmware as RT-AC68U)
      • RT-AC87
      • RT-AC3200
      • RT-AC88U
      • RT-AC3100
      • RT-AC5300
      • RT-AC1900 (same firmware as RT-AC68U)
      • RT-AC1900P (same firmware as RT-AC68U)
      • RT-AC86U (starting with version 382.1)
      • RT-AC2900 (same firmware as RT-AC86U)
      • RT-AX88U
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    7. #6
      hushcoden's Avatar
      hushcoden is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2017
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus dsl-ac88u

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Sad to say but the DSL-AC68 is a bit unstable regarding the vdsl side of things. I had one myself for a short period when they first launched, think I took it back to PC World after three days. It was causing massive issues with the DLM intervening and reducing my sync speed.
      Is the OP mentioning the DSL-AC88U ? If so, then it should support DHCP 61... Or do you have the option to select Sky during setup ?

      Also, have you installed the latest firmware?

    8. #7
      ReeceD's Avatar
      ReeceD is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2019
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus dsl-ac88u

      Quote Originally Posted by hushcoden View Post
      Is the OP mentioning the DSL-AC88U ? If so, then it should support DHCP 61... Or do you have the option to select Sky during setup ?

      Also, have you installed the latest firmware?

      Latest firmware is installed, one of the first things I did. I have the DSL-AC88U not 66u. As far as I’m aware the 88u does has option 61/MER authentication. You don’t have the option to select it anyway during the set up, so I’m thinks it could be a setting somewhere but I can’t find it.

    9. #8
      m0t's Avatar
      m0t
      m0t is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Grove Park
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus dsl-ac88u

      I've got this router and it works fine with sky, only problem is that I can't get ipv6 on it. I'm not sure if that's a problem or not. Also my in laws 5 minutes down the road have sky and are using the default modem/router and they also don't get ipv6 so I don't know if this is a local problem or not.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION