Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

    This is a discussion on Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all, I've read a lot of posts concerning this matter but can't seem to find a definitive answer, I'm ...

    1. #1
      Reggie79's Avatar
      Reggie79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2018
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Hi all,

      I've read a lot of posts concerning this matter but can't seem to find a definitive answer, I'm hoping somebody may be able to assist/clarify.

      I have subscribed to Sky Fibre unlimited. I decided to upgrade to a third party router and opted for the Asus DSL-AC88U, I saw this was VDSL compatible and thought it would work straight out of the box. Forgive my naivety! Has anybody actually got this router working with their Sky Fibre connection?

      I understand Sky now allow third party routers although they won't support them. I have followed instructions to extract the username and password via Wireshark although this apparently this isn't required, any username and password will work as long as it's in the correct format? However, on speaking too Sky, they said it is required but they couldn't provide it as they don't know it, it's preconfigured in the stock router.

      I took all of the settings from my supplied Sky ER110 (IP address, Subnet Mask, Gateway etc) and entered them into the Asus as I was getting a DHCP error so tried to manually configure it, the router then shows as connected to the internet but there isn't actually any connection.

      I've plugged the Asus directly into the wall socket via CAT6 ethernet, it is a BT broadband Mk 5 wall plug with a MK 4 faceplate which already has a VDSLfilter, could this be the problem, is there some sort of double filtering going on?

      I've also seen a lot of talk of Merlin and DD-WRT third party software installed but I don't believe this router supports either. I'm wondering if I jumped the gun to early with this router although there are there forums saying this router will work with Sky Fibre. As I said, it shows as connected to the internet via the GUE but I have no internet. Can anybody shed any light and maybe provide a nudge in the right direction?

      Thanks in advance

      Last edited by Reggie79; Today at 12:29 PM.




    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      675
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      have you enabled option 61 if it supports it?

      you need to be able to enter somewhere
      anything@skydsl|1234567 otherwise it's not going to authenticate with sky wan side regardless of the modem syncing to the openreach side.

      can you share some screen shots of the config perhaps. sounds like perhaps it's missing the wan side authentication option to me.
      If it was me I would have gone with the RT version of the router and used a separate vdsl modem in bridge mode. Merlin far as I know will not install on the DSL variants....merlin makes it easy to enter the required option 61 information...
      https://wikidevi.com/wiki/List_of_Me...ported_devices
      Last edited by skyeci; 22-10-18 at 05:44 PM.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    4. #3
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by Reggie79 View Post
      I've plugged the Asus directly into the wall socket via CAT6 ethernet, it is a BT broadband Mk 5 wall plug with a MK 4 faceplate which already has a VDSLfilter, could this be the problem, is there some sort of double filtering going on.
      i hope you haven't. The DSL-AC88 should have come with an RJ11 cable, that goes from the DSL port on the modem straight into the VDSL socket on the faceplate, even an RJ11 plug should fit into the VDSL faceplate.

      That Asus also supports Sky VDSL, directly, option 61 is built in, you do not need any third party firmware.
      Last edited by marjohn56; 22-10-18 at 10:26 PM.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      675
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      @marjohn.. he has the 88u not the 68
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    6. #5
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,803
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Sorry corrected it, so used to typing DSL-AC68 it was a bit automatic, whatever, it's still compatible with Sky. standard username|password combo will work, i.e. anything you like!
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #6
      Reggie79's Avatar
      Reggie79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2018
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-country-isp-selection.jpgAsus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-country-isp-selected.jpgAsus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-ppp-username-password.jpgAsus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-verification-time-out.jpgAsus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-select-internet-type.jpgAttachment 6719Attachment 6720Attachment 6721Attachment 6722Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-dsl-log.jpgAsus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-general-log.jpgAsus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-internet-iptv-showing-connected.jpgAsus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-wan-settings.jpgAsus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-no-internet-connection-but-dsl-showing-speeds.jpg

      I've attached some screen shots, first the ISP selection, then it asks for PPP username and password, I've extracted this from Wireshark although from what I've seen it can be anything as long as it's in the correct format, nothing I've tried has worked, it tries verifying the username and password then just times out. I can skip the setup and access the router settings, the DSL part shows as connected and displays up and download speeds. The WAN settings show as not connected. I've attached screen shots of the DSL and General Log, also the WAN settings page.

      It seems the WAN connection isn't getting an IP via DHCP, I was thinking this router doesn't support option 61 but what I've read on other forums it does. I'm on the verge off taking it back. I've spoofed the MAC address of the stock router, tried setting the connection manually but had no luck with anything I've tried so far, any there suggestions?

    8. #7
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      675
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      - - - Updated - - -

      can you pm the wan settings jpeg. can't see the writing as too small
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    9. #8
      Reggie79's Avatar
      Reggie79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2018
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Where are you seeing ppoe? It asks for ppp username and password... I was presuming this is your router username and password?

      Yes of course, I'll send it through now, thanks for your assistance ��

    10. #9
      Reggie79's Avatar
      Reggie79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2018
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screen Shot 2018-10-24 at 13.12.18.jpg 
Views:	679 
Size:	18.7 KB 
ID:	6735I can't send as a PM, is this better?
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited-wan-settings.jpg  
      Last edited by Reggie79; 24-10-18 at 01:13 PM.

    11. #10
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      675
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts

      Re: Asus DSL-AC88U third party router with Sky Fibre Unlimited

      looks to me if that's set to IP I see no box for option 61 support. On merlin this would be called something like additional isp requirement which is where you would put the username and password. If this box isn't present I don't see how it's going to work. Still can't read it clearly tbh.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION