Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    New Noise Margin rules?

    This is a discussion on New Noise Margin rules? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Okay so I have no idea where else to post this and this is the only place I could think ...

    1. #1
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 6 (BT Smart HUB)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      316
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Question New Noise Margin rules?

      Okay so I have no idea where else to post this and this is the only place I could think to turn to.

      I am not on Sky and haven't been for years now. I am currently on BT Infinity using their top package (76Mb/20Mb) and a few days ago my line resynced to 79.995Mbps with a noise margin now at 4.5 before this it would hover at 6/5.9 on noise margin. Is it possible that BT have changed the minimum noise margin levels recently?

      I apologise if this is the wrong place to be posting this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      622
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: New Noise Margin rules?

      if you are on a huawei cab then dlm can use lower noise margin profiles which in turn will lift the ds sync. 3,4 and 5 can be used if the line will support it. A relatives line flips a fair bit between 3 and 4 on the ds as the line conditions change it seems. Sadly those of us on ECI cabs still don't enjoy this feature let alone G.INP....
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI line stats/8800nl V1


      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    4. #3
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,130
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts

      Re: New Noise Margin rules?

      As above, you can indeed get down to 3dB.

      I was at 6dB for a long time and sync ended up at 61Mb. I then went and had a second FTTC line installed and both lines were 57Mb.

      I was able to actually rate limit my Sky FTTC line with the help of the folks over at the Kitz forum and I ended up with 68Mb on both, so it's 11Mb per line when 3dB and retransmission low is in effect

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      622
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: New Noise Margin rules?

      still depends on the quality of your line too. External factors can still cause changes etc.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI line stats/8800nl V1


      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    6. #5
      SOF006's Avatar
      SOF006 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT Hub 6 (BT Smart HUB)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      316
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: New Noise Margin rules?

      I am on an ECI based exchange from what I remember. Unless BT have magically turned it into a Huawei cabinet overnight haha. I'll monitor it, the noise margin hasn't moved from 4.5 since it resynced.

    7. #6
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      622
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: New Noise Margin rules?

      you can check the cab type by looking it up here

      https://www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk/codelook.htm

      Sadly eci dlm does not implement lower DS snr profiles..wish it did..
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI line stats/8800nl V1


      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    8. #7
      dog-man's Avatar
      dog-man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: About 130 mtrs from the cabinet.
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus 3200
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Planet Earth
      Posts
      1,626
      Thanks
      88
      Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: New Noise Margin rules?

      Where on that site does it show what type of cabinet you are connected to?

      I have tried inputting my post code and or phone number and see no reference to cabinet type unless I am missing something staring me in the face.

    9. #8
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      622
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: New Noise Margin rules?

      pm me your postcode if you like and will show you.
      normally I do search by number or post code then click on "show all "x" number of cabinets and it show the cab type on the right against each cab number..
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI line stats/8800nl V1


      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION