Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

    This is a discussion on Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi All I know there's already many posts out there asking a similar question I am about to, however there's ...

    1. #1
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      Hi All

      I know there's already many posts out there asking a similar question I am about to, however there's that many I'm now confused on whatís best for me

      So fed up of redoing all my port forwarding for my NAS & security cams and reconnecting all my devices everytime we changed ISP, I decided to get my own router, which also gave me the benefits of better wifi, better security and better features and after some research I bought the Asus RT-AC68U.

      As you'll know Virgin is easy with modem mode, but when we moved house and couldn't get Virgin again, we got Sky, not knowing they didn't offer the same modem option, so I now have a SKY Q hub with fibre that I have temporarily connected my laptop to, to give me internet access and my Asus router that I have to connect to separately to view my cctv and nas.

      I don't really want to go down the route of flashing the Asus, due to risk of bricking it, losing all the port forwarding, passwords and already connected devices etc and with the T&C's around using Sky equipment unclarified, I'd prefer to stick to the Sky Q hub than an alternative modem.

      So with all that in mind, my first finding seemed fairly simple

      • turn off DHCP on Sky Hub
      • set Sky ip to 192.168.0.1
      • Turn wifi off on SKY hub
      • Configure DMZ on SKY hub with ip 192.168.0.2
      • Reserve 192.168.0.2 on SKY hub for Asus router
      • Connect ethernet from Sky Hub to Asus WAN port
      • Set Asus ip as 192.168.0.2 and set gateway as 192.168.0.1
      • leave DHCP on ASUS router


      However trying this didnít work, with no access to the internet on either my Asus or even via ethernet on SKY hub, the only step I couldnít do was setting the Asus gateway to the sky hub ip, as there appeared to be no option to do this and the original post I found used a different subnet, but my nas and cctv are already set on the static ipís within the 192.168.0.xx range, so changing the subnet means changing all the devices static ipís, which again goes against one of the reasons for having my own router

      Any help appreciated


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      muffintastic's Avatar
      muffintastic is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamore (01922)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      Walsall, West Midlands
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      Hi.

      Why don't you buy a seperate modem off fleabay, specifically an unlocked one then download Merlin's FW for the Asus so you can input your Fibre username and password and eliminate the Sky Q router since it's rubbish? That's how I have ,y AC3200 (Asus) setup it's more equipment but less hassle.

    4. #3
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      Hi, yes it seems like it should be the better option, but my concerns with doing that are,

      not using the Sky hub as breaking T&C's (although not clear if I would be or if they'd ever check)

      obaining my login details (although some say you don't need it, if you use option 61, but I assume thats only available with Merlin?)

      flashing the Asus there's a risk bricking it and it will wipe all my cctv/nas/devices static ip reservations, port forwarding etc

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      617
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      you don't need login details. been using my own routers and modems with sky from adsl to vdsl for 10 years. Never had any issues.

      flashing an Asus is easy. perhaps make a note of your settings in case flashing it removes and custom rules etc.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI line stats/8800nl V1


      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    6. #5
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      It's something i need to look at, if this is my only option

      Is there a guide to installing Merlin & where to download it from?

      And which modem would you suggest? i've read something about checking what's in the cabinet and I think they are getting harder to find.

    7. #6
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      617
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      https://asuswrt.lostrealm.ca/download for merlin.
      Configuring takes about 5 mins.
      wan settings are automatic IP
      dns = automatic or your preferred choice

      at the bottom of the wan config page enter on the additional ISP requirement
      anything@skydsl|anypassword

      this should get you connected.

      're modems. lots of choices but you need one that works in bridge mode. Check eBay.
      hg612
      billion 8800nl v1
      vmg8324

      there are others but see if you can find any of those..

      if you are on am eci cab then whilst a v130 for example will give a better latency as it's matched to an ECI cab. If on huawei stick with a broadcomm.

      if your FTTC cab is a large double door unit then most likely huawei. small single door unit then eci.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI line stats/8800nl V1


      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    8. #7
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      Thanks for the detailed reply, the big that i'm confused about is the cab, how or where do I check?

    9. #8
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      617
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 39 Times in 39 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      you can look it up here
      https://www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk/codelook.htm

      or pm your address and I can have a look.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI line stats/8800nl V1


      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    10. #9
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      Checked, but i don't see anything saying huawei or eci even if I click on the cabinet number

      Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub-untitled.jpg
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub-untitled.png  

    11. #10
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      So installed Merlin and checked settings as you suggested, the only modem I can find is the HG612, which says it works with Huawei and eci (I assume there will be some benefit to matching to cab, but assume not that big a benefit for me), so I have placed the order, with a bit of luck it will be here Sat and I can carry on my setup, I may be back with more questions though.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION