Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

    This is a discussion on Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; yup. it should work fine. if you pm your postcode/address o can take a look if you wish. setting the ...

    1. #11
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      649
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      yup. it should work fine. if you pm your postcode/address o can take a look if you wish.

      setting the wan config takes just a few minutes. It's really straight forward but if you need help please ask.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      I will and thank you for your help

    4. #13
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      649
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      if you want to unlock the hg612 you can using custom firmware. Gives you line stats. If not you need do nothing to it bar connecting your routers wan port to port 1 of the hg612..
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    5. #14
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      the one i've bought is already unlocked

    6. #15
      kamalaggi's Avatar
      kamalaggi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2018
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      Try leaving DHCP enabled on the sky q router. This should work. As long as WiFi is disabled on the sky q router the DHCP server on the sky q router will only assign an ip address to the Asus router. The DHCP server on the Asus will assign the rest of the ip addresses.

      This method worked for me.

      All I did was a factory reset on Sky q router disabled WiFi and hooked up my router with ethernet cable and it worked. I didnt need to do anything else. I used ethernet 1 port on Sky q router and wan port on my router.

      Im using 2 x Ubiquiti Amplifi Routers but the same should work with the Asus router.

      Im using ethernet homeplugs to connect both Ubiquiti Amplifi Routers together and everything is working perfectly.

      The only minor issue that the main Ubiquiti Amplifi Router has 2 ip addresses. The one assigned by the sky router DHCP server and the one that the Ubiquiti Amplifi Router has assigned.
      Last edited by kamalaggi; 13-09-18 at 04:43 AM.

    7. #16
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      ok thanks, the modem should be here over the weekend, so i can then ditch the sky hub completely, reading more online, it sounds like you don't break any Sky T&C's anymore, they just don't support your equipment, which makes sense.

    8. #17
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      Quote Originally Posted by kamalaggi View Post
      Try leaving DHCP enabled on the sky q router. This should work. As long as WiFi is disabled on the sky q router the DHCP server on the sky q router will only assign an ip address to the Asus router. The DHCP server on the Asus will assign the rest of the ip addresses.

      This method worked for me.

      All I did was a factory reset on Sky q router disabled WiFi and hooked up my router with ethernet cable and it worked. I didnt need to do anything else. I used ethernet 1 port on Sky q router and wan port on my router.

      Im using 2 x Ubiquiti Amplifi Routers but the same should work with the Asus router.

      Im using ethernet homeplugs to connect both Ubiquiti Amplifi Routers together and everything is working perfectly.

      The only minor issue that the main Ubiquiti Amplifi Router has 2 ip addresses. The one assigned by the sky router DHCP server and the one that the Ubiquiti Amplifi Router has assigned.
      Tried again tonight and mine definitely won't work this way, just get ip conflict and no internet access from my asus, but as I say, modem arriving this weekend so hopefully that will sort it

    9. #18
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,490
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      Quote Originally Posted by kamalaggi View Post
      Try leaving DHCP enabled on the sky q router. This should work. As long as WiFi is disabled on the sky q router the DHCP server on the sky q router will only assign an ip address to the Asus router. The DHCP server on the Asus will assign the rest of the ip addresses.

      This method worked for me.

      All I did was a factory reset on Sky q router disabled WiFi and hooked up my router with ethernet cable and it worked. I didnt need to do anything else. I used ethernet 1 port on Sky q router and wan port on my router.

      Im using 2 x Ubiquiti Amplifi Routers but the same should work with the Asus router.

      Im using ethernet homeplugs to connect both Ubiquiti Amplifi Routers together and everything is working perfectly.

      The only minor issue that the main Ubiquiti Amplifi Router has 2 ip addresses. The one assigned by the sky router DHCP server and the one that the Ubiquiti Amplifi Router has assigned.

      You will be in a double-NAT situation with this setup but as long as you don't connect anything to the primary router then it should kind of work.

      I have a Hybrid of this running. I have Sky Q and enabled hotspots working downstairs as that's where the router and all TV boxes are so have 3 hotspots there. I then have a Billion 7800n connected via ethernet (with Wifi enabled but DHCP disabled) giving stronger wifi for upstairs and it works up to the very back of the garden, where the Sky devices have no chance!
      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of Sky

    10. #19
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      649
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      no need for double natting and not a good way to run things anyway, the op is acquiring a vdsl modem and his router will support option 61 so it should be straight forward from there.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    11. #20
      johp778's Avatar
      johp778 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2018
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Asus RT-AC68U and Sky Q Hub

      Hi All
      Modem arrived, all connected a running fine, much simpler than i thought it was going to be, all settings retained in my Asus, so all devices reconnected no problem, thank you all for your help.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION