Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    OpenWRT Fibre Settings with HomeHub5a

    This is a discussion on OpenWRT Fibre Settings with HomeHub5a within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hello, Iíve managed to follow the guide to get my old HH5a running openWRT fine. Iím also using the built ...

    1. #1
      lavster's Avatar
      lavster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OpenWRT Fibre Settings with HomeHub5a

      Hello, Iíve managed to follow the guide to get my old HH5a running openWRT fine. Iím also using the built in modem it has, Iíve got a connection under the DSL status on the home page but canít get the WAN working. Iíve tried PPPoE and PPPoATM also the dHCP client as per the guide on this form from a few years ago. Iím unable to see any clear errors in the system log.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lavster's Avatar
      lavster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OpenWRT Fibre Settings with HomeHub5a

      Following up to this, i've managed to the DSL status to UP, yet i cant seem to get an IP assigned to the WAN no matter what i do. I've now got the settings from the Sky MER directions on this forum. However nothing seems to be assigning it an IP. On the logs I can see an error Unable to Reach Host

    4. #3
      lavster's Avatar
      lavster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OpenWRT Fibre Settings with HomeHub5a

      I've now reset the firmware to basic settings. gone through the guide exactly and still getting nowhere, starting to think i may as well give up now.

      The Home Hub B light flashes and on the status page i've got 72mbps down and its working fine, however my wan connection is still "not connected"

      here is the tail of my system log after i rebooted it, any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

      Fri Jul 13 19:28:23 2018 daemon.notice netifd: Network device 'ptm0' link is up
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:23 2018 daemon.notice netifd: Interface 'wan' has link connectivity
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:23 2018 daemon.notice netifd: Interface 'wan' is setting up now
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:23 2018 kern.warn kernel: [ 59.566635] enter showtime
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:23 2018 daemon.notice netifd: wan (1661): udhcpc: started, v1.25.1
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:24 2018 daemon.notice netifd: wan (1661): udhcpc: sending discover
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:27 2018 daemon.notice netifd: wan (1661): udhcpc: sending discover
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:30 2018 daemon.notice netifd: wan (1661): udhcpc: sending discover
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:49 2018 daemon.err uhttpd[909]: sh: write error: Broken pipe
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:49 2018 daemon.err uhttpd[909]: sh: write error: Broken pipe
      Fri Jul 13 19:28:49 2018 daemon.err uhttpd[909]: sh: write error: Broken pipe

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,334
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 361 Times in 352 Posts

      Re: OpenWRT Fibre Settings with HomeHub5a

      Can you telnet into your home hub?
      If so kill the dhcp client and re-launch it with valid option 61 (0x3d) client ID data.
      If all other settings are correct you should get an IP address offer.
      Code:
      killall udhcpc
      udhcpc -i eth0 -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc -x \
      0x3d:3132333435363738393130313140736b7964736c7c3839613132333435 &
      Edit:
      Looking at your logs it maybe that the interface name should be ptm0 and not eth0.
      Last edited by seawright; 11-09-18 at 12:25 AM.

    6. #5
      coipu's Avatar
      coipu is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EADER
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: pfSense 2.3.4(i386)
      Sky TV: Cord Cut
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Location
      Wherever I lay my VPN
      Posts
      500
      Thanks
      29
      Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: OpenWRT Fibre Settings with HomeHub5a

      well i have lede on an eci modem and this threw me for a while too. Eventually I figured 2 things, one you have to rename the wan depending on your lede version and two its the router that gets the wan connection not the modem. mine still shows as not connected (i have it on unmanaged) and my pfSense box negotiates the connection just fine. Dunno if that makes sense or helps but just what it took me a day to figure out.

      i used the guide to help me figure out what was going on even though im using an eci modem not a hh5
      https://openwrt.ebilan.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=266

    7. #6
      Skyhighguy's Avatar
      Skyhighguy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2018
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: OpenWRT Fibre Settings with HomeHub5a

      Seems like i am in the same position after much pain i got the homehub5a working on openwrt and got the dsl status up and running but cant get the wan up or get a ip address from the uhdcp call i tried the killall udhcpcudhcpc -i eth0 -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc -x \
      0x3d: with my my data but nothing and no way to sniff my packets with wireshark as i got a now tv hub 2 (sky q Hub) which is a modem and a router with wifi and 2 100/1000 ethernet ports.
      not gonna give up there must be a way grrr.
      DSL Status
      Line State: UP [0x0]
      Line Mode: G.993.2 (VDSL2)
      Line Uptime: 58s
      Annex: B
      Profile: 17a
      Data Rate: 34.993 Mb/s / 9.999 Mb/s
      Max. Attainable Data Rate (ATTNDR): 62.935 Mb/s / 19.013 Mb/s
      Latency: 0.0 ms / 5.0 ms
      Line Attenuation (LATN): 14.8 dB / 16.6 dB
      Signal Attenuation (SATN): 14.8 dB / 16.4 dB
      Noise Margin (SNR): 14.5 dB / 9.8 dB
      Aggregate Transmit Power(ACTATP): 5.6 dB / 5.8 dB
      Forward Error Correction Seconds (FECS): 0 / 2327
      Errored seconds (ES): 0 / 0
      Severely Errored Seconds (SES): 0 / 0
      Loss of Signal Seconds (LOSS): 0 / 270
      Unavailable Seconds (UAS): 79 / 79
      Header Error Code Errors (HEC): 0 / 0
      Non Pre-emtive CRC errors (CRC_P): 0 / 0
      Pre-emtive CRC errors (CRCP_P): 0 / 0
      ATU-C System Vendor ID: Infineon 178.6

      Thu Aug 16 08:27:57 2018 daemon.notice netifd: wan (1912): udhcpc: started, v1.28.3
      Thu Aug 16 08:27:57 2018 daemon.notice netifd: wan (1912): udhcpc: sending discover
      Thu Aug 16 08:28:00 2018 daemon.notice netifd: wan (1912): udhcpc: sending discover
      Thu Aug 16 08:28:03 2018 daemon.notice netifd: wan (1912): udhcpc: sending discover
      Thu Aug 16 08:29:05 2018 daemon.err uhttpd[1143]: luci: accepted login on /admin/status/overview for root from 192.168.2.248
      Thu Aug 16 08:31:22 2018 daemon.err uhttpd[1143]: sh: write error: Broken pipe
      Thu Aug 16 08:31:22 2018 daemon.err uhttpd[1143]: sh: write error: Broken pipe
      Thu Aug 16 08:31:22 2018 daemon.err uhttpd[1143]: sh: write error: Broken pipe

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION