Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

    This is a discussion on Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi there, I have recently just gotten Sky Fibre and just flashed DD-WRT to my Netgear Nighthawk R700, which seems ...

    1. #1
      RMS1892's Avatar
      RMS1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      Hi there,

      I have recently just gotten Sky Fibre and just flashed DD-WRT to my Netgear Nighthawk R700, which seems to have went well. I now need the settings to get this working with Sky Fibre, would be much appreciated if anyone could provide them!

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      727
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 56 Times in 56 Posts

      Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      look at reply #386. there is an attachment with config for ddwrt....
      Known Working Third Party Routers With Sky Fibre

      you don't need to extract your username or password anymore in case it is mentioned. You can put anything provided it's in the right format.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to skyeci For This Useful Post:

      RMS1892 (18-08-18)

    5. #3
      RMS1892's Avatar
      RMS1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      Quote Originally Posted by skyeci View Post
      look at reply #386. there is an attachment with config for ddwrt....
      Known Working Third Party Routers With Sky Fibre

      you don't need to extract your username or password anymore in case it is mentioned. You can put anything provided it's in the right format.
      Thanks for that! I think I have gone wrong somewhere as when I run the command at point 6 on page 5, it runs but I don't see any feedback at all, and the WAN IP at the top right is still 0.0.0.0.

      This is the command I ran:

      killall udhpcp
      udhcpc -i vlan2 -p /var/run/udhcpc.pid -s /tmp/udhcpc -x 0x3d:32346137646362666536323040736b7964736c7c37323 36437393635 &

      I noticed in the PDF that it says the hex string used in the command should come close to 100 numbers/letters, mine only came to like 56 in total. I see that you said you do not need wireshark anymore to extract the username and password but I had already done that, so as it says in the PDF, I used this website to convert it to the hex string. I see you said you can put anything in provided it's the right format, could you please provide me with a correct hex string to use then instead of mine as I assume that's where I am going wrong?

      Thanks.

      EDIT: By the way, I am aware that it shows there is a space in the hex string in the command. I don't know why that space is showing as it is not there when I click on "edit post". I also double checked what I pasted in to the router command line and there was no space.

    6. #4
      RMS1892's Avatar
      RMS1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      Anyone any ideas? Am a bit stuck now.

    7. #5
      RMS1892's Avatar
      RMS1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      No-one? The command runs but doesn't do anything.
      The Sky Q router is horrible, very poor signal in a few rooms in the house.

    8. #6
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      727
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 56 Times in 56 Posts

      Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      sorry mate. Can only offer you the links as I don't use Netgear I'm afraid. Asus,Opnsense are much easier to work with hence why I use/used them..
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    9. #7
      RMS1892's Avatar
      RMS1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      Ok, thanks anyway. I'll just use the Sky Q Router and buy a WiFi Extender then I suppose.

    10. #8
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      Tell you what, I would check your interface name, it's very unlikely to be vlan2. I would first try eth0, if that fails then read that doc again. It should be a real interface, not a vlan.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    11. #9
      RMS1892's Avatar
      RMS1892 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2018
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      Quote Originally Posted by marjohn56 View Post
      Tell you what, I would check your interface name, it's very unlikely to be vlan2. I would first try eth0, if that fails then read that doc again. It should be a real interface, not a vlan.
      Thanks for the suggestion, I have just tried running the command again but changed vlan2 part in the command to eth0 but it still doesn't seem to have worked, here's what happened:

      - The command ran, but other than the "Processing... Please wait" message while the command was running, I didn't see any message appear like the one stated on page 6 of the PDF.
      - This time, immediately after the command finished running (only took a few seconds), the internet light on my Netgear router turned on, this didn't happen when I did this with vlan2 in the command.
      - The WAN IP in the DD-WRT router dashboard changed from all zeroes to 5.69.228.48 (this stayed as zeroes when I did this with vlan2 in the command)
      - I tried connecting my phone to the router wirelessly but it was just the same as when I ran the command with vlan2, it connected but said "no internet" and I couldn't load any webpages etc
      - I restarted the router but when the router came back on, the internet light did not and when I logged in to the DD-WRT router dashboard again, the WAN IP was back to all zeroes.

      I then Telnet to the router again and ran ifconfig just to double check whether it should be vlan2, eth0 etc and saw that the only one with a HWaddr which matched my Sky Q Router MAC Address was definitely vlan2. I have saved my ifconfig results to notepad and can post them here if you want to have a look yourself, just not sure whether that is sensitive info I shouldn't be posting publicly?

    12. #10
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 19.7.b
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,806
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Netgear Nighthawk R7000 DD-WRT Settings

      please do.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION