Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 4 of 4

    Extending connection to master socket

    This is a discussion on Extending connection to master socket within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Until now my router (SR102) has just been kicking around on the floor, I have no other way to place ...

    1. #1
      MarkC's Avatar
      MarkC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Extending connection to master socket

      Until now my router (SR102) has just been kicking around on the floor, I have no other way to place it near the master socket. I've moved it now and had to use a 5m phone extension cable but (as expected) its affected the router connection speed, its current down from 37Mb to about 31Mb (as displayed in the router stats). Line attenuation has increase from 19 to 21. The cable is only a cheap "flat" type, so the question is if i tried a better quality cable will I recover much of the lost speed or am I wasting my time ? will it make any difference if I extend after the microfilter ? (currently the microfilter is at the end of the 5m extension). For example I could try this RJ11 lead: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B007OU99...ing=UTF8&psc=1

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,458
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Extending connection to master socket

      Flat telephone cables are fine for voice but don't use them for data. Use a good quality telephone cable or even better use cat5E network cable.
      If you have an NTE5 master socket you can fit a MK3 VDSL faceplate (a bit more expensive than a microfilter though you should be able to buy one for around 20) which has an RJ45 socket to plug the network cable into though you will need an RJ11 plug or RJ45 to RJ11 convertor to connect to the SR102 router.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      MarkC (22-02-18)

    5. #3
      MarkC's Avatar
      MarkC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2011
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Extending connection to master socket

      Thanks, not overly surprised the cable is crap. I'll look in to switching to a faceplate & cat5E (assume cat6 will be fine too?)

    6. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,458
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Extending connection to master socket

      Cat6 would be ok but will cost more and is unlikely to be any better than cat5E at FTTC speeds.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      MarkC (22-02-18)

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION