Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19

    Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

    This is a discussion on Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey guys My fibre was connected at 21mb down and i had to reset my router due to power failure ...

    1. #1
      thewoe's Avatar
      thewoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2018
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      Hey guys My fibre was connected at 21mb down and i had to reset my router due to power failure a few nights ago and it reconnected at 17, Just wondering if i leave it will it automatically go back up to 20 or 21 eventually? How exactly does it work with Fibre because i know sky dont have alot of control over fibre connections and the speeds etc do they?

      Should i reset my router until the speed gets back up?

      Connection Speed
      Down - 17644 kbps
      UP - 2825 kbps

      Line Attenuation
      Down - 28.8 dB
      UP - 0.0 dB

      Noise Margin
      Down - 6.2 dB
      UP - 6.6 dB
      Last edited by thewoe; 01-02-18 at 08:54 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Billion 8800NL V1(bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      571
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts

      Re: Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      no don't keep resetting your router. you run the risk of getting yourself banded by dlm (caps your speed). can be very hard to get rid of. you have a long line looking at your attenuation. Surprised your speed dropped. Normally following a power outage (external) you can sometimes see a rise.

      Vdsl lines can be affected by noise, new subscribers etc. The thing to do is check your down SNR value at various times of the day/night. If you get a reasonable rise above 6.2 you could then resync the modem to gain some speed back. Currently your DS snr appears to be on target.

      do you know what sort of cab you are on ? huawei or eci?
      Billion 8800NL modem (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016

      click for my ECI line stats

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    4. #3
      thewoe's Avatar
      thewoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2018
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      Quote Originally Posted by skyeci View Post
      no don't keep resetting your router. you run the risk of getting yourself banded by dlm (caps your speed). can be very hard to get rid of. you have a long line looking at your attenuation. Surprised your speed dropped. Normally following a power outage (external) you can sometimes see a rise.

      Vdsl lines can be affected by noise, new subscribers etc. The thing to do is check your down SNR value at various times of the day/night. If you get a reasonable rise above 6.2 you could then resync the modem to gain some speed back. Currently your DS snr appears to be on target.

      do you know what sort of cab you are on ? huawei or eci?
      I couldnt tell you what the cabinet type is, I do know its brand new and was only installed this past december, Its also a slimline one.

      I thought the lower the Noise Margain was better?

      Just checked the Stats and my Noise margain went upto 7.4db so i resynced and it connected at 19mb.

      Will a resync ever cause banding? Or is that only a full reset?

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Billion 8800NL V1(bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      571
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts

      Re: Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      if it's huawei then you can get additional things like g.inp, vectoring and lower snr profiles which can raise sync, lower snr and ultimately improve your connection . sadly eci does not have these improvements.

      does it look like this?

      https://www.google.co.uk/search?clie...BkaWgDxL_KMQM:


      or this..

      https://www.google.co.uk/search?clie...sT5TiqKpR0tHM:



      too many quick syncs could well cause banding. you can get away with a few in a row but don't push it. You can leave 30 mins between powering router back on but it won't always increase sync and again keep it to as few as poss.

      good you gained some speed back. by keeping an eye on your line stats you will get to know it's characteristics...

      a reset can remove banding but these are not easy to get so it pays to try and not get it in the first place...
      Last edited by skyeci; 02-02-18 at 10:56 AM.
      Billion 8800NL modem (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016

      click for my ECI line stats

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    6. #5
      thewoe's Avatar
      thewoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2018
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      Quote Originally Posted by skyeci View Post
      if it's huawei then you can get additional things like g.inp, vectoring and lower snr profiles which can raise sync, lower snr and ultimately improve your connection . sadly eci does not have these improvements.

      does it look like this?

      https://www.google.co.uk/search?clie...BkaWgDxL_KMQM:


      or this..

      https://www.google.co.uk/search?clie...sT5TiqKpR0tHM:



      too many quick syncs could well cause banding. you can get away with a few in a row but don't push it. You can leave 30 mins between powering router back on but it won't always increase sync and again keep it to as few as poss.

      good you gained some speed back. by keeping an eye on your line stats you will get to know it's characteristics...

      a reset can remove banding but these are not easy to get so it pays to try and not get it in the first place...
      It looks more like the second cabinet.

      Thank you for the advice regarding resyncs etc now im at 19 i think i will just leave it for good, Im happy with that for the time being.

      Its good to know that when the noise margain rises i can do a resync to try and improve speed, i always though having it lower was better.

    7. #6
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Billion 8800NL V1(bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      571
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts

      Re: Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      ok so sounds like an eci cab.. If it is an eci it won't benefit presently from the technologies I mentioned above.

      You may find that that your snr is around the target 6 after you resynced it?
      Billion 8800NL modem (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016

      click for my ECI line stats

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    8. #7
      thewoe's Avatar
      thewoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2018
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      Quote Originally Posted by skyeci View Post
      ok so sounds like an eci cab.. If it is an eci it won't benefit presently from the technologies I mentioned above.

      You may find that that your snr is around the target 6 after you resynced it?
      It has gone down to 4.5db currently, still connected at 19mb down and 2.7 upload

      Connection Speed 19739 kbps 2714 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.8 dB 0.0 dB
      Noise Margin 4.5 dB 6.6 dB

    9. #8
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Billion 8800NL V1(bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      571
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 38 Times in 38 Posts

      Re: Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      put your phone number in the below link and you should be able to figure out your cab type if you know the number on the pcp.
      https://www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk/codelook.htm

      4.7 is not great if on an eci when the target is 6. it may have been a cross talker who was off line at the time you checked the snr. Then they switch back on and your snr drops. DLM will intervene if required, cab type would be handy to know.
      Billion 8800NL modem (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016

      click for my ECI line stats

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei

    10. #9
      thewoe's Avatar
      thewoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2018
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      Quote Originally Posted by skyeci View Post
      put your phone number in the below link and you should be able to figure out your cab type if you know the number on the pcp.
      https://www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk/codelook.htm

      4.7 is not great if on an eci when the target is 6. it may have been a cross talker who was off line at the time you checked the snr. Then they switch back on and your snr drops. DLM will intervene if required, cab type would be handy to know.
      Its usually around 6.6 - 6.2 it only drops to 4 on the odd occasion for a few hours
      Last edited by thewoe; 02-02-18 at 09:31 PM.

    11. #10
      thewoe's Avatar
      thewoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01424
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2018
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Will my Fibre speed go back up if i leave it?

      Quote Originally Posted by skyeci View Post
      put your phone number in the below link and you should be able to figure out your cab type if you know the number on the pcp.
      https://www.telecom-tariffs.co.uk/codelook.htm

      4.7 is not great if on an eci when the target is 6. it may have been a cross talker who was off line at the time you checked the snr. Then they switch back on and your snr drops. DLM will intervene if required, cab type would be handy to know.
      I went to have a look at my caninet today, Its the first one afterall. The larger one.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION