Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Help getting an Asus RT-AC87U router working with a Sky Q hub

    This is a discussion on Help getting an Asus RT-AC87U router working with a Sky Q hub within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi folks I need more LAN ports than the Sky Q hub offers, plus the built in wifi is proving ...

    1. #1
      Adrian E's Avatar
      Adrian E is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2018
      Location
      W Sussex
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Help getting an Asus RT-AC87U router working with a Sky Q hub

      Hi folks

      I need more LAN ports than the Sky Q hub offers, plus the built in wifi is proving to have pathetic range in our house compared the Asus which I used with my cable provider before moving house.

      I've got as far as connecting the Q box via ethernet and switching off all the wifi functionality in the hub and Q box, so I know it's only running hard wired.

      I tried setting up the Asus in bridge mode and although I could get it to talk to the Q hub and deliver wifi and limited LAN it has far more limited functionality than I need for my previous setup with an HP micro server with an assigned IP address (it seems to hide all the options for manually configuring IP addresses in bridge mode?).

      Put it back into full router mode and managed to brick the Asus router. I've finally managed to reset it using the WPS button method and am currently typing this using my phone as a modem as I can't face undoing it all! I'm sure I've got a saved config file for the router on my desktop, so I can get it back how it was in its last working state at my old house, but it's knowing what to put in where in the Q hub and Asus router to get them doing what they're supposed to.

      We were with Virgin cable previously and had their Netgear router in modem only mode and just pushed traffic to the Asus to do all the hard work.

      Ideally I want the Q hub acting as a modem only, and I'd read the guide about changing IP addresses to allow 2 routers to work together, but it seems it's not as simple as that in my case?

      I know there's a lot of similar threads but I'm struggling to get my head around what to try - I know just enough to follow instructions on IT networking, but not enough to figure out what to change myself!

      If anyone can help I'd be much obliged!

      Adrian


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      726
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 56 Times in 56 Posts

      Re: Help getting an Asus RT-AC87U router working with a Sky Q hub

      the q router will not work as a modem only.

      You could just run the Asus as wap (would need ethernet connection between the q router and the asus)

      You woukd just run the wizard and put the asus into wireless access point mode. If you can't disable the wifi on the q router then you may need to adjust channels afterwards.


      With a seperate modem your Asus could handle all your Routing needs and you wouldn't need the q router at all but that's another topic.
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    4. #3
      Adrian E's Avatar
      Adrian E is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2018
      Location
      W Sussex
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help getting an Asus RT-AC87U router working with a Sky Q hub

      Hi - thanks for the reply - that's the method I tried in terms of ethernet between the 2, but it just doesn't quite seem to work as expected.

      The Q router wifi is completely off, as is the wifi repeater in the Q TV box (couldn't figure out why I could still 'see' the Sky wifi even after switching it off, then read about needing to go into the engineers menu to switch it off on the TV box!)

      I did have a visit from a BT openreach engineer as the phone line was iffy after connection and he left me with a spare modem he was carrying about - an Openreach Huawei EchoLife HG612. Could I get it to work with that?

      A

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      726
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 56 Times in 56 Posts

      Re: Help getting an Asus RT-AC87U router working with a Sky Q hub

      yes.

      download merlin for the asus.
      flash it

      plug the modem into phone line. plug lan1 into the wan port of the asus when you configured it.

      once merlin is installed you can setup the wan port.

      settings will be
      automatic ip
      enter dns server address of your choice e.g. 8.8.8.8 (google)
      at the bottom of the page you need to enter the login info to make it work with sky
      anything@skydsl|anypassword -must be in that format.

      plug in the cable from the modem to the wan port and reboot it.

      all being well that will get you connected.

      there are plenty of posts with further settings but the basics are as I listed above and should get you connected.

      it is possible with the stock firnware but I am not sure of the settings but Merlin firnware will work from the gui.

      WAN Connection Type = Automatic*IP
      Enable WAN = Yes
      Enable NAT = Yes
      Enable UPnP = Yes
      Connect to*DNS*Server automatically = Yes or enter your preferred choice
      MTU*= 1500
      Authentication* = None
      Manual clientid = whatever@skydsl|apassword
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

    6. #5
      Adrian E's Avatar
      Adrian E is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 1TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2018
      Location
      W Sussex
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help getting an Asus RT-AC87U router working with a Sky Q hub

      Thanks for the help - I went with the BT modem, which needed to be reset to get a connection but then quickly sorted itself out. Connecting a laptop direct to the modem didn't seem to work (I assumed it would for testing purposes, but maybe without the WAN info to look up it won't?) but plugged the Asus in with the Merlin firmware and WAN setup above and I've instantly got all my old network setup configured I restored it from a backup before doing the Merlin install which restored the manual IP setup for LAN that I wanted to preserve.

      Just going round plugging things in and checking all is good

    7. #6
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: ECI CAB - 8800nl v1 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      726
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 56 Times in 56 Posts

      Re: Help getting an Asus RT-AC87U router working with a Sky Q hub

      the modem is just a modem.. it won't work directly etc to a pc.. it needs a router behind it
      billion 8800nl V1 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for line stats by pi3/ECI CAB

      click for line stats by Pi3/Huawei CAB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION