Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By det

    Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected

    This is a discussion on Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; For the past few weeks I am facing an issue with my Sky fibre broadband. Upon booting up my laptop, ...

    1. #1
      jamilayz's Avatar
      jamilayz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Station
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected

      For the past few weeks I am facing an issue with my Sky fibre broadband.


      Upon booting up my laptop, it automatically connects to the Wi-Fi, I keep getting the following message whenever I open Internet Explorer or Google Chrome and internet doesn't work on it at all.


      Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected


      The only way I can get it to work it by disabling the Wi-Fi adaptor a few times or rebooting the laptop.


      I have also tried plugging the ethernet cable directly into the Sky Q Hub as well but it's the same.

      All the drivers are up to date as I have checked but this happens nearly all the time.



      I have even tried uninstalling the drivers as well but no luck as well as has rebooted the Sky Q Hub as well.


      All the lights are green.


      I have checked other devices at the time when I am experiencing this issue and they seems to be working fine.


      Ethernet Adaptor:-
      Realtek PCIe FE Family Controller


      WiFi Adaptor:-
      Intel Dual Band Wireless-AC-3168



      I have already uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers for these a few times but no luck.

      Done a clean Windows 10 install as well.

      Contacted Sky as they sent a replacement Sky Q Hub but this message won't go away.

      Also got in touch with Microsoft and HP but it's not working as it could be a hardware issue ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,556
      Thanks
      789
      Thanked 2,168 Times in 2,043 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected

      It sounds more something to do with your laptop.

      As a suggestion try to separate the 2.4GHz and 5GHz channels by giving them different names (i.e. 2.4GHz = SkyLo & 5GHz = SkyHi). This might help as your laptop would otherwise try to keep working out which has the better signal.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      jamilayz's Avatar
      jamilayz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Station
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      It sounds more something to do with your laptop.

      As a suggestion try to separate the 2.4GHz and 5GHz channels by giving them different names (i.e. 2.4GHz = SkyLo & 5GHz = SkyHi). This might help as your laptop would otherwise try to keep working out which has the better signal.


      Does Sky Q Hub supports IPv4 & IPv6 on Sky Fibre FTTC ?

      The reason I am asking is because as soon I as I unticked IPv6 from my wireless/ethernet adapter properties "Broadband Connection Diagnosis" page disappeared and came back when I ticked it again.

      Secondly as per BT Wholesale ADSL checker website, FTTP is available in my are but there is no way to order it or even get an estimate for the associated costs ?

      Are there any providers who are offering this service ?

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      27,556
      Thanks
      789
      Thanked 2,168 Times in 2,043 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected

      Yes the Q Hub supports IPv6. You're better of with it enabled IMHO.

      IPv4 support is a given for all connections at the present time.

      All the Sky Hub routers from Sky and the latest Sagem routers support IPv6. All of Sky's broadband and fibre connections should now support IPv6. Some don't but this tends to be because the router (an older model) doesn't support IPv6 or it's not set up correctly. Of course non-Sky routers need to be configured correctly and not all support Skys implementation of IPv6.

      Call Sky to see if you can get Sky Fibre. If your cabinet has just been enabled it could take a few days or a couple of weeks.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,031
      Thanks
      63
      Thanked 322 Times in 313 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected

      Quote Originally Posted by jamilayz View Post
      Secondly as per BT Wholesale ADSL checker website, FTTP is available in my are but there is no way to order it or even get an estimate for the associated costs ?

      Are there any providers who are offering this service ?
      You raise an interesting point. I believe that there are a limited number of exchanges where FTTP trials are taking place but for other exchanges I have been unable to find any ISP offering speeds in excess of 80Mb/s download speed even though BT's checker shows that 330Mb/s is obtainable.

      Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected-bt_bb_availability_checker.jpg

      I thought that there must be some confusion between FTTC and FTTP but to quote from A&A Broadband's online order form:

      "Superfast" FTTP (Fibre to the premises) at 80Mb/s

      FTTP uses a glass fibre to your premises. This means a speed of 80Mb/s down and 20Mb/s up can be provided regardless of distance from exchange or cabinet.

    7. #6
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,763
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 139 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected

      Both those driver sets are just standard driver sets and not seen any problems with a lot of kit that use them in their many configurations.
      Windows 10 will provide default drivers for both of those. For the wireless one Intel have designed it that way. You should not need to go hunting for a specific driver.
      What model of HP do you have?

    8. #7
      det's Avatar
      det
      det is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      You raise an interesting point. I believe that there are a limited number of exchanges where FTTP trials are taking place but for other exchanges I have been unable to find any ISP offering speeds in excess of 80Mb/s download speed even though BT's checker shows that 330Mb/s is obtainable.
      BT Retail offer 200 and 300Mbps plans on Openreach FTTP, named Unlimited Infinity 3 and 4 respectively.
      Recently Openreach have started offering 1000 down / 200 up FTTP products too, so we'll hopefully start seeing those being picked up by retailers. Although they've overpriced it (IMO), so maybe not in the residential space for awhile.
      seawright likes this.

    9. #8
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      365
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 31 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Broadband Connection Diagnosis - Not quite connected

      Quote Originally Posted by det View Post
      BT Retail offer 200 and 300Mbps plans on Openreach FTTP, named Unlimited Infinity 3 and 4 respectively.
      Recently Openreach have started offering 1000 down / 200 up FTTP products too, so we'll hopefully start seeing those being picked up by retailers. Although they've overpriced it (IMO), so maybe not in the residential space for awhile.
      I wouldn't count on it. Just about all ISP's that offer residential WBC FTTP only seem to offer 40/10 and 80/20.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION